Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20 for Windows

Step-by-step guidance on using the most popular functions of EndNote 20 on PC

Intro: Import from databases using import filters

Most databases allow you to directly export your search results into your EndNote Library (see the Export Directly from Other Databases page). However, a few databases require you to save your database search results as a text (.txt) file and import that file into EndNote using filters. This page shows how to do this.

How to import using filters

Once you have saved your text file from a database, you will then need to import that text file into your EndNote Library.

  1. Open your EndNote Library

  2. Select File > Import > File. Alternatively, click the Import icon

  3. Browse your computer to find the text (.txt) file you have saved from your database search

  4. Choose the appropriate filter

  5. Select Import into EndNote > Select OK.

If the appropriate filter is unavailable, you will need to download that filter.​ 
EndNote comes with a range of filters - you may download specific filters from below:

Download EndNote import filters button

 

​​

 

  1. In your browser, select a filter link.

     

  2. Choose Open. It will open in your EndNote program.

     

  3. Select File > Save As. Remove the word "copy" from the end of the filename.

     

  4. Select OK > Close the filter.

     

This will save it in the appropriate directory on your computer - usually C:\Users\[User Name]\Documents\EndNote\Filters on a Windows machine. Make sure the EndNote folder locations match where you are saving the filters. To check, go to EndNote and select Edit > Preferences > Folder

This EndNote Training (2017) video tutorial demonstrates how to save text files in the correct formats for importing, and how to import them into EndNote. PubMed is used as an example. 

Anthropological Index Online (AIO)

Provider: Royal Anthropological Institute. Use ReferBiblx filter in EndNote.
Export of results currently not working. When Full Search capabilities return:

Save Search Results

  1. Search database entering keywords and search options

  2. Click Refer format (at bottom of search screen)

  3. Click Search the AIO

  4. Search results display

  5. File Save as a text file (.txt)

  6. File Type as Unicode (UF-F8)

  7. Save the file to the Desktop

  8. In Endnote click File/Import/File

  9. Locate and highlight file from Desktop

  10. Use ReferBiblx filter

  11. Click Import into EndNote

  12. Select EndNote library if necessary.

Cochrane Library

Provider:  Wiley. Filter File Name: Cochrane Library (Wiley).enf available from EndNote.

Save Search results

  1. From the search results, mark the boxes for selected records

  2. Click Export selected  (at the top or bottom of the page)

  3. Choose Export type: PC

  4. Choose File type; Citation Only or Citation and Abstract

  5. Click Export citation

  6. In citation-export.txt - Notepad, click File > Save as Text Document (.txt) to desktop

  7. In Endnote click File > Import > File

  8. Choose the file Cochrane Library (Wiley).enf from the desktop.

International Medieval Bibliography

Provider: BREPOLS.  Filter File Name: Intl Medieval Bib.enf available from EndNote.

Save search results

  1. From the search results, mark the boxes for selected records

  2. Click Export (at the top of the page)

  3. Select .txt - Endnote

  4. Click Export

  5. At File Download click Save

  6. Save file to desktop

  7. Click Close

  8. In EndNote click File > Import > File 

  9. Choose the file Intl Medieval Bib.enf from the desktop.