This toolbox offers quick links to library resources for your research.
New user? Watch these videos on finding and using Reese Library's databases in GALILEO and searching the Augusta University Libraries' catalog.
Databases:
GALILEO Discover
Search hundreds of Reese Library databases at once.
GALILEO Discover -- Advanced Search
Check the subject boxes to search multiple databases in a particular field or subject, like Sociology and Sports & Leisure.
Selected Individual Databases
Information overload in GALILEO Discover? Try searching in individual databases. This list includes social science databases, sports databases, and general multi-subject databases.
Search individual databases in other subjects that relate to your topic.
General Tools:
Find a Particular Source - Use this page to locate and request copies of known sources (a particular book, journal article, etc.).
University Libraries Catalog(GIL-Find) - Find books in the Reese or Greenblatt Library collections.
University System of Georgia Library Catalog (GIL-Universal) - Find and requests books and other materials from libraries across the state.
Find Books from Around the World (WorldCat) - Search for books and other materials, but not journal articles, from around the world.
Probably about half of the sources I find when doing research come from the reference lists of what I’m reading. In fact, that’s the point of reference lists—to show the reader where your information comes from.
When reading the article below for the sample topic Race, class, and gender and the social perceptions of Venus and Serena Williams, I noticed that this section really fit with my topic:
If I see a reference to an idea I’m particularly interested in, I’ll find it in the reference list and look it up.
These reference entries have all the information I will need to see if Reese Library has a copy of these articles. With this information, I can use the Find a Particular Source page to see how I can get copies of these materials.
References
Hills, L., & Kennedy, E. (2006). Space invaders at Wimbledon: Televised sport and deterritorialization. Sociology Of Sport
Journal, 23(4), 419-437. Retrieved from http://journals.humankinetics.com/