Skip to Main Content
Augusta University

Sociology of Golf: Searching Tips

Sociology of Golf Research Guide

Toolbox

This toolbox offers quick links to library resources for your research.

New user? Watch these videos on finding and using Reese Library's databases in GALILEO and searching the Augusta University Libraries' catalog.

Databases:

GALILEO Discover
Search hundreds of Reese Library databases at once.

GALILEO Discover -- Advanced Search

Check the subject boxes to search multiple databases in a particular field or subject, like Sociology and Sports & Leisure.

Selected Individual Databases
Information overload in GALILEO Discover? Try searching in individual databases. This list includes social science databases, sports databases, and general multi-subject databases.

GALILEO Databases by Subject

Search individual databases in other subjects that relate to your topic.

General Tools:

Find a Particular Source - Use this page to locate and request copies of known sources (a particular book, journal article, etc.).

University Libraries Catalog(GIL-Find) - Find books in the Reese or Greenblatt Library collections.

University System of Georgia Library Catalog (GIL-Universal) - Find and requests books and other materials from libraries across the state.

Find Books from Around the World (WorldCat) - Search for books and other materials, but not journal articles, from around the world.

Searching Tips

These search tips will help you whether you are looking in an online database or a library catalog.

Searching Databases by Yavapai College Library

Take some time to think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic.  Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title and subject fields in your most promising results.

Try these search features:

  • Use Boolean search logic to combine keywords in order to narrow or expand your search (AND, OR, NOT)
    • AND: Use AND to narrow down your results, e.g. Augusta AND CSRA
    • OR: Use OR to expand your results, e.g. Augusta OR CSRA
    • NOT: Use NOT to eliminate words from appearing in your search results, e.g. Augusta NOT Maine
  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (If you type in strategic plan without quotations into a search engine, it will bring back any pages with the words strategic and plan in them. If you type "strategic plan" into a search engine, it knows to look for those words together as a phrase.
  • Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)
  • Use parentheses to direct the search engine to perform your search in a certain order. (If you type in (macaroni OR shells) AND cheese into a search engine, it will know to look for pages that have either the words macaroni and cheese or shells and cheese.

In most databases, you can also:

  • Search in full text and search by subject, title, and author.
  • Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
  • Sort results by date or relevance
  • Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search