Sociology of Golf: Organize Sources

According to Zotero.org,  "Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free [emphasis mine], easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

Zotero's Quick Start Guide is a good place to see what you can do with Zotero. For more in depth instructions on how to install and use Zotero, review the Augusta University Zotero LibGuide or the Zotero LibGuide by Georgia State University's Jason Pucket.

Watch the video below by Kyle Denlinger at Wake Forest University's Reynolds Library for a quick overview of what Zotero can do:

Our two major information vendors have personal folder features. You can set up an account with each of them and save searches, alerts, notes, citations and full-text articles from your searches in these databases.  

EBSCO

• Start by going to Databases A to Z , then EBSCO databases under the “E's.”
  
• Click on EBSCO databases again, then choose the database or databases you want to search.
• Click on “Sign In” then “Create New Account.”

VERY IMPORTANT: EBSCO allows you to use a ‘folder’ feature for just one session, but you want to use your folders that stay with you from one session to another. Be sure you’ve signed in! You will know you are signed in when the yellow “My” banner shows up on the EBSCO symbol on your search screen.

• You can create folders and subfolders with whatever names you choose.
• To save a citation and/or a full-text article to a folder, click on “Add to folder” from either your results list or the citation/abstract view.  You choose what folder the item goes into.
• To share a folder with someone, (they must have a My EBSCO account) click on the yellow ‘folder’ icon, click on the folder you want to share, then click ‘share.’ Enter the email addresses, separated by semicolons, of the people you want to share with. Uncheck ‘restrict passcode to single use.’ The people you want to share with will get an email telling them how to get to the folder.

 ProQuest

Start by going to Databases A to Z , then ProQuest databases under the “P's.” Once you’re in, click on “change” at the top of your screen to see the list of databases. It’s easiest to “clear all”, then select the databases you want to search.

• Click on “My Research,” then “Create a My Research account.”
• You can create folders with whatever names you choose.
• You can mark items from a page of results, then “add them to my research” or add them from the citation/abstract view.  You choose what folder the item goes into.
• You can’t share folders, but you can email the contents of a folder to someone else. Go to “My Research,” choose the folder whose contents you want to send, add the email address(es), and be sure to choose the “original file format” option.