Skip to Main Content

Educational Innovation: Annotated Bibliographies

This guide gives an introduction to Reese Library and library research for students in the Doctor of Education in Educational Innovation program.

Annotated Bibliographies - an overview

"A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic...

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources."

- The Writing Lab; The OWL at Purdue; and Purdue University (1995-2017, para. 1-3)

Step 1: Verify the details of your assignment

​​​ 

As seen in the brief definition, an annotated Bibliography can include any credible source, like a book, a website, a journal article, a report, a film, and so on. Furthermore, an annotated bibliography may be either descriptive or evaluative.

Check your assignment requirements to verify the following. If in doubt, check with your instructor regarding the:

  • any type of journal articles?
  • peer-reviewed articles only? 
 

  • Descriptive Annotation: Summarizes the content of the publication, pointing out key topics, significant features, intended audience, etc.

Step 2: Search and gather sources

Search and gather sources from portals which will lead you to information which meet your assignment criteria. For example: 

  • GALILEO: Searches across hundreds of databases at once
  • Individual subject-specialty databases, or a set of them: Apply a more targeted search by searching in one database, or a collection of databases simultaneously.
  • GIL-Find Catalog: Find print and eBooks, audio-visual materials including streaming videos, Government Documents, and more within Augusta University and the USG system.
  • Externally: You may find it helpful to visit other libraries' search portals if you are after sources from a niche subject.
 
Step 3: Evaluate and select your sources

Be selective and evaluate the information you find by considering the origin and nature of the source, and its applicability to your needs. 

A source evaluation tool or rubric can guide you in evaluating the source for credibility and relevance.  See the links below for 2 tools.

Make your final selection. If you could not find enough credible sources to meet your required minimum, go back to search for others.

Step 4: Critically analyze your selected sources 

When you critically analyze a source, you make mental notes of the below aspects.

Mark up your source with markings, highlighters, post-it notes -- whatever helps you to keep track of your critical analysis.

This list is not exhaustive and not all points may be applicable to each source:

  • Author: Authority, experience, or qualifications of the author.
  • Purpose: Why did the author write this?
  • Scope: Breadth or depth of coverage, topics included, etc.
  • Audience: For whom was it written (general public, subject specialists, students, etc.)?
  • Viewpoint: What is the author’s perspective or approach (school of thought, etc.)? Do you detect an unacknowledged bias, or find any undefended assumptions?
  • Sources: Does the author cite other sources, and if so, what types? Is it based on the author’s research? Is it a personal opinion piece? Etc.
  • Conclusion: What does the author conclude? Does the work lead to this conclusion?
  • Features: Any significant extras that are useful to the audience, e.g., visual aids (charts, maps, etc.), reprints of source documents, an annotated bibliography?
  • Comparison: How does it relate to other works on the topic? Does it agree or disagree with another author or a particular school of thought; are there other works which would support or dispute it?

Derived from "How to Write an Annotated Bibliography" by Kendall Hobbs from Wesleyan University Library

Step 5: Draft your annotation

Draft your annotation. If it is an evaluative annotation, incorprate the critical analysis you did in step 3.

A reminder of aspects you could critically note about in your annotation:

  • Author: Whether the author has the authority, i.e. are they sufficiently qualified or experienced, to speak on the topic. 
  • Purpose: The purpose of the piece.
  • Scope: If it has sufficient breadth or depth of coverage; the topics included, etc. 
  • Audience: For whom was it written (general public, subject specialists, students, etc.)
  • Viewpoint: The author's perspective or approach. If you detect any unacknowledged bias or undefended assumptions. 
  • Sources: If the author cites other sources, and if so, the types. If it is based on the author's research. Or, if this is a personal opinion piece and does not cite sources. 
  • Conclusion: What the author concludes, and if their research or review leads to this conclusion. 
  • Features: If any significant extras are included that could be useful, eg. visual aids (charts, maps, etc.), reprints of source documents, any reproducible material, an annotated bibliography, etc.
  • Comparison: If the source relates to other works on the topic, eg. if the author agrees or disagrees with another author/s on a particular school of thought. If there are other works which would support or dispute this source. 

Derived from "How to Write an Annotated Bibliography" by Kendall Hobbs from Wesleyan University Library

For more info:
Step 6: Format your annotated bibliography appropriately

Format your annotated bibliography in the style your instructor has requested, e.g., APA Style; MLA Style.

If in doubt which style to write in, check with your instructor. You may be able to write in a style of your choice, as long as you keep it consistent.

The style stipulates how to:

  1. Cite different types of sources
  2. Format your paper.

Annotated Bibliography samples in MLA, APA, and Chicago Manual Style