Skip to Main Content

Educational Innovation: Search Strategies

This guide gives an introduction to Reese Library and library research for students in the Doctor of Education in Educational Innovation program.

Develop a winning Search Strategy

Game of Thrones stillWhat is a search strategy?

A "search strategy" is like your plan of attack and requires a bit of strategy to successfully execute.

A winning search strategy is:

  • Targeted and iterative - Identity different sites to deploy your search strategy. 
    • GALILEO
    • Relevant, individual databases
    • GIL-Find Catalog
    • Web search engine, like Google or Google Scholar.
  • Armed with search techniques and tactics - Enlist Boolean Operators, subject headings, parentheses, truncation and wildcard devices in your army and deploy them when needed.
  • Flexible - Tweak search strategy according to where you search.
  • Evolving - Modify the search strategy as you search. Experiment with various search techniques and tactics to see if you get different, more relevant results.

Image credit: Helen Sloan/HBO, retrieved from EW

Quick Tips

 

  • What database or resource should I use? e.g., broader topics might benefit from a subject-specific database, while very narrow searches might work best with a consolidated search such as GALILEO Discover
  • What keywords or "key phrases" stand out in my research topic? These will form your "search query".
  • What subject headings or authorized headings are associated with my topic? You typically find these in the source's record in a catalog or database.
  • What Boolean Operators can help me focus my search? AND, OR, NOT. e.g., Colleges NOT Universities
  • Are wildcards or truncation necessary and supported by my database? e.g., * is a popular truncation device. Strateg* will retrieve strategy, strategies, strategic, strategically, strategist, etc. 
  • Would I benefit from a Research Consultation with a librarian? A librarian can benefit you by
    • Recommending useful databases for your topic
    • Guiding you on structuring your search query. 
    • Showing you tips and tricks on how to expand or narrow your search.
    • And more...
The 'Search Strategy Cycle'

The Search Strategy Cycle graphic depicts the 5 main phases of establishing and executing a Search Strategy:

  1. Identify key concepts & terms (also known as 'keywords')  - these will form your "search query".
    • Graphic depicting Search Strategy cycle. 5 circles illustrate the chief phases. The headings in each circle, beginning from top, and going clockwise, is written in text on left.Identify any synonyms or related key concepts if you can.

       

  2. Select relevant databases or resources to search
    • Tip: Our Research Guides recommend top databases for a subject our course.

       

  3. Combine search terms with Boolean operators  Typical operators are AND, OR, and NOT. Some databases use NEAR. 
    • If you have synonyms, combine these with the main search terms with OR.
    • Structure your combinations with parentheses.
    • Incorporate search techniques, if applicable, like:
      • Quotation marks - to search for phrases
      • Truncation devices - to include word variations
      • Wildcard devices - to include spelling and singular vs. plural variations

         

  4. Run your search query in selected resources, eg. GALILEO, individual databases, GIL-Find catalog, Google Scholar.

     

  5. Review and refine search results
    • Most databases have a panel to easily refine your results in a range of ways.
    • GALILEO and most databases have a folder or shortlist, for saving, e-mailing, and exporting citations.  

Modify your search strategy 

Revisit a phase of the cycle to see if you can find different sources. Tips:

  • Try different synonyms.
  • Look at the subject headings and author-supplied keywords of a record, if there are any.
  • Try "backward citation searching" and "forward citation searching".
FAQ signQ) Why apply your search strategy in Library databases, rather than Google Scholar alone? 

A) Library databases typically have far more search options and can, therefore, generate more focused results in less time!

 

In order to find more relevant search results, it helps to understand the rules and structure of the database you are using (ie, how are things indexed and searched). Before using a database for the first time, consider these factors:

  • What journals or content does it search (general? subject specific?)
  • Does it have an advanced search?
  • Can you search different fields (such as author or title)?
  • Does it use Boolean (AND, OR, NOT, NEAR)?
  • Are there keywords or standard vocabulary?
  • Does spelling count or does it autocorrect?
  • Does it keep a search history? If so, can you interact with it? (e.g., create a new search from combining previous searches)
  • Are there ways to limit or filter the search results before or after you search?
  • Are wildcards supported? Which ones?

Most databases will provide information about supported search tactics in their "help" menu. When it doubt, ask a librarian. 

Max your search strategy like a pro with search techniques

The table below outlines a search strategy armed with search techniques to help you expand or narrow your results. 

Go to each tab to find out more about each search technique.

 

Example Research Topic

 

Discuss classroom management interventions for dealing with bullying in the elementary classroom

 

Develop a Search Strategy

 

  1. Firstly, identify the main keywords or "key phrases": What words or phrases stand out to you? Do not include stop words. These will form your initial keywords (also known as search terms). For example, you may identify:
    • "classroom management"
    • elementary
    • interventions
    • bullying

 

  1. Brainstorm any synonyms; think of additional synonyms or related concepts to include in your search, either right away or later on. For example:
  • elementary - elementary, primary, K-5
  • "classroom management" - "instructional management"
  • interventions - strategies, techniques, "behavior modification"
  • elementary - primary, K-5, a particular grade if you have one in mind eg. "fifth grade"
  • bullying - teasing, a specific type of bullying eg. cyberbullying

 

  1. Identify relevant search techniques, and apply wherever accepted (most, but not all databases recognize them) to expand or narrow your search.

If you aren't sure if your database accepts the technique, give it a go! If it doesn't work, consult the Help menu or contact a librarian.

 

Search Technique
Format
Example
Exact Phrase Searching "key phrase"

"classroom management"
Boolean Operators AND, OR, NOT "classroom management" OR "behavior modification"

Parentheses

(keyword/phrase BOOLEAN OPERATOR keyword/phrase)

("classroom management" OR "behavior modification) AND bullying
Truncation Device Typically an asterisk: * May vary according to database "classroom management" OR "behavior modification) AND bully*
Wildcard

Typically a pound or a question mark.

May vary according to the database.

"classroom management" OR "behavior modification" AND "STE#M education" 
  1. Gather any relevant sources, then modify your search query if necessary, and gather more sources.

 

  1. Evaluate your sources, discard any inappropriate resources. Modify your search query if you don't have enough appropriate sources.

 

Exact Phrase Search

 

What it does The format Example/s

Will retrieve results containing your "key phrase" in the order that you have inputted at least once in the record details or the item contents

 "Key phrase"

"classroom management" will find the exact phrase 'classroom management' at least once; it won't separate the words.

 

Boolean Operators

 

What they do The format Example

Boolean operators are 'connectors'. They combine keywords or key phrases in order to narrow or expand your search. 

In a simple search, if you use no Boolean Operator, the default operator is typically AND.

AND

OR

NOT

Search field 1: "Classroom management"

Field 2: AND bullying

Field 3: AND elementary OR primary OR "fifth grade"

Field 4: AND interventions OR "behavior modification"

Field 5: NOT cyberbullying

 

Parentheses

 

What they do The format Example

Parantheses direct the discovery search tool or database's search engine to perform your search in a certain order. 

Because you are asking it to search in that specific order, you can input it all in one search field, or the simple search form.

AND

OR

NOT

"Classroom management" AND bullying AND (elementary OR primary OR "fifth grade") AND (interventions OR "behavior modification") NOT cyberbullying

 

 

Truncation

 

What it does The format Example

Enter part of a keyword and place the truncation symbol at the end. The database will return results that include any ending of that partial word.

Typically an asterisk i.e. *

May vary from database to database.

Check the database's Help Menu to make sure, or contact a librarian.

"classroom management"

AND bully*

AND (elementary OR primary OR "fifth grade")

NOT cyberbullying

***

bully* will retrieve bully and bullying

 

Wildcard
What it does The format Example

A wildcard will substitute its symbol for one letter in a keyword. 

Use it for incorporating various spelling variations of a keyword in your search in certain databases.

GALILEO and EBSCOhost databases now account for both American and British spelling. However, not all databases do.

Canadian spelling of the English language combines British and American rules.

Symbol may be:

 

pound, #

question mark, ?

exclamation mark, !

 

Varies according to the database.

Consult the database's 'Help' or 'Search Tips' page to verify the wildcard symbol.

behavio#r will retrieve

behavior OR behaviour

 

colo?r will retrieve

color OR colour