These collections are available on microfilm at Reese Library:
Archie Butt Camp No. 5 (Augusta, Ga.) United Spanish War Veterans
Augusta Arsenal (Ga.)
Berton E.Daniel
Confederate Survivors Association. Camp 435 (Augusta, Ga.)
Clinch Rifles (Augusta, Ga.)
Pfadenhauer, Ruby Mabry McCrary. 1902-1997 Series I & II
The following Augusta Richmond County Historical Society provided indexes to their journal “Augusta Richmond County History” were
compiled by Alice O. Walker
Subject Index, 1969-2008
Author/Title Index, 1969-2008
List of Illustrations, 1969-2008
Researchers depend upon finding aids to locate material that would otherwise be impossible to search by ponderously thumbing through every page of every collection.
Finding aids can be detailed lists but most are a summation of what the collection holds and the coverage in time and subject. Finding aids require many hours to assemble in a consistent manner. Reese Library Special Collection is undertaking an effort to create an aid for all of its manuscript and photographic collections.
The aids were created from materials donated to Reese Library Special Collections.
Note: Books held within Special Collections may be found in the library catalog (GIL-Find). These aids are links to the contents of manuscript materials within the collections of Reese Library Special Collections and Augusta-Richmond County Historical Society.
Discovering manuscript collections at Reese Library Special Collections and Institutional Archives
Manuscript collections at Reese Library Special Collections and Institutional Archives are discoverable through the Archon archives management database
Use this link to search the manuscript collections: http://archive.aug.edu/archon
Tips for using the Archon homepage
Use the top left search box to search for collections by keyword or collection number.
Use the collections tab to browse all collections or to search collections alphabetically
Please Be Aware
All collections have not yet been entered in this database. If you cannot find material on the topic you wish to explore, please contact Reese Library Special Collections at 706-667-4904 or spcoll@augusta.edu. Records are being continually added to the Archon database.
Loose Photographs Collections Database - is an access database containing 1800 scans of photographs relating to Augusta Georgia. The file can be searched by subject and keyword. You must visit Special Collections to access this database
Reese Library Verticle File for Augusta-Richmond County - This is a 40 year old clipping file on Augusta Georgia and the surrounding Richmond County. While the majority of the material consists of newspaper clippings, there are in some cases programs and brochures of interest. You must ask at access services to use this file in the Reference area.
Special Collections is always open to additions to the collections. Please contact Special Collections for donation procedures if you are considering a gift.
Contact us at 706-667-4904 or spcoll@augusta.edu for more information.
