|
Image and Multimedia Resource |
Description |
Audience |
Media Type |
Quality |
Peer Reviewed |
Searchable |
Downloadable |
Access |
|
Dissections of real, unembalmed human bodies; the images also show their natural texture and mobility. |
Education |
Videos |
Excellent quality content but low quality videos |
No |
No |
Yes |
Limited; Requires Internet explorer or Netscape |
|
|
Dissections, detailed information about different parts of the body, and quizzes on a custom regional view |
Education |
3D Models |
quality sacrificed for speed of movement |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
Limited access without premium account |
|
|
Provides central nervous system imaging which integrates clinical information with magnetic resonance (MR), x-ray computed tomography (CT), and nuclear medicine images |
Education |
Medical Imaging |
Small images |
Yes |
No |
Yes, Only movie Version is downloadable |
Open access, credit has to be given for educational use |
|
|
Comprehensive digital library of anatomy information |
Education |
Illustrations and photographs |
Dated and small |
Yes (Internally) |
No |
No |
Copyrighted but open access |
|
|
Plate's from Gray's anatomy books
|
Education & Research |
Illustrations and Diagrams |
Low resolution |
No |
No |
Yes |
Free media repository; all are in the public domain |
|
|
Human embryo specimens representing 10 stages of development were imaged by magnetic resonance microscopy (MRM) to produce three-dimensional image data sets |
Education; Research; Health Care Providers |
Photographs, Videos, Medical Imaging |
High quality |
Yes |
No |
No |
Open access, but available for educational purposes |
|
|
A digital image dataset of complete human male and female cadavers in MRI, CT and anatomical modes. |
Education |
Images of sectioned male and female cadavers, MRI and CT |
High resolution images |
Yes |
No |
Yes, after agreement is signed and approved |
Requires signed license agreement |
|
Image and Multimedia Resource |
Description |
Audience |
Media Type |
Quality |
Peer Reviewed |
Searchable |
Downloadable |
Access |
|
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology |
Over 900 color photographs illustrating skin diseases, skin manifestation of internal diseases, infections, tumors, and incidental skin findings |
Education; Health Care Providers |
Photographs |
Peer Reviewed and excellent images and data |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Limited - on campus or have to sign in |
|
Consists of 5 lessons: basic skin exam, lesion types, distribution and body location, configurations, and an introduction to disease variation |
Education |
Photographs |
High quality images |
Yes |
No |
Only with subscription |
Open Access, educational use. leave the copyright watermark intact and include the source reference |
|
Image and Multimedia Resource |
Description |
Audience |
Media Type |
Quality |
Peer Reviewed |
Searchable |
Downloadable |
Access |
|
|
Histology slides of pathological conditions from various organs |
Education |
Images - slides: pathological |
High definition; |
Yes |
No |
No |
Open |
|
A free app with over 1,000 high resolution virtual slides |
Education |
Histology slides: normal and pathological |
High Quality, High resolution images |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes, only for institutional use |
Open, Consent Required for non-educational |
|
Image and Multimedia Resource |
Description |
Audience |
Media Type |
Quality |
Peer Reviewed |
Searchable |
Downloadable |
Access |
|
Includes information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues; Health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems and surgical procedures |
Patients |
Photographs, illustrations, diagrams and videos |
Good quality videos |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
Open |
|
|
Images from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s historical collections including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters dating from the 15th to 21st century. |
Public |
Fine art, Photographs, Illustrations |
Great quality |
Yes |
No |
Yes |
Open |
|
|
National Library of Medicine resource that includes abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections |
Education; Research; Health Care Providers |
Medical Imaging, Diagrams, Videos, Photographs |
Generally high quality |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Depends on the license of each image, some are open access |
|
|
Multiple albums of NIH Photos on various topics |
Education; Research; Health Care Providers |
Photographs, illustrations, diagrams |
High Quality and available at different sizes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Open |
|
|
A unique collection of examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations that feature complicated concepts |
Education |
Animations, Videos, Photographs |
Accurate Content but bad medical illustrations |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Limited - on campus or have to sign in |
|
|
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course |
Education |
Videos |
Good quality videos and content |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
Limited - on campus or have to sign in |
|
|
High quality, highly engaging scientific video demonstrations of experiments in biology, neuroscience, medicine, immunology and infection, and bioengineering |
Education |
Videos |
Well edited videos, peer reviewed |
Yes |
No |
Yes but only published article |
Limited - on campus; Only certain categories are available |
|
|
Organized, universal gateway to CDC's pictures |
All |
Photographs, Illustrations or Videos |
High quality images - can download large or small image size |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes, copyrighted images: must ask permission to use |
Labeled, either public access or copyright protected |
|
|
Access to thousands of videos grouped into convenient subject-specific categories. |
Education |
Videos and some e-learning modules |
typically low quality, but reliable sources - slightly out of date |
Yes |
Yes |
No |
Sign in with NetID for access |
|
|
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource |
Education & Health Care Providers |
Photographs, illustrations and diagrams |
Typically high quality, depends on the article |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
include a source reference to UpToDate |
|
|
Medical imaging database repository |
Research |
Medical Imaging |
Depends on the source |
Most |
No |
Some databases |
Open access, usually have to submit email |
|
Image and Multimedia Resource |
Description |
Audience |
Media Type |
Quality |
Peer Reviewed |
Searchable |
Downloadable |
Access |
|
Provides a range of photographs and illustration spanning from biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images to portraits of present and past directors and the staff of the National Cancer Institute; currently provides public access to 3,502 images. |
Communicators of medical and public health |
Illustrations, Photographs, diagrams, videos |
Excellent |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes, copyrighted images |
Open |