Integrated Studies - INTS4970: Background info

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for research. To browse a list of titles the library has purchased, click on the "Show All" link from the Gale Virtual Reference Library start page.

The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections. Ancestry Library Edition updates continually, with more indexes and original images added all the time.

The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement

In recognition of the sesquicentennial of the start of the American Civil War, Civil War in the American South provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).

The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.

Offers a single point of access to millions of items - photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more - from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

Early English Books Online contains full-text images of almost every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British North America between 1473-1700, as well as works published in English throughout the rest of the world. 

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the result of the African Origins Project, a scholar-public collaborative endeavor to trace the geographic origins of Africans transported in the transatlantic slave trade. Many have contributed to this international research project, which is based at Emory University.

The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness. Information is available not only for consumers, but for health care professionals as well. Access to statistical data and CDC publications is available.

The world's largest archive of digital social science data. Acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data and provides training in its analysis. Also offer access to publications based on its data holdings.

Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world.