Assignment Description - Summary
How would you identify gifted children? What characteristics and attributes do they demonstrate?
After a particular book, journal article, or another item that Augusta University Libraries does not hold?
You may be able to obtain the source or its copy via the GIL-Express or ILLiad services.
If full-text of an article is not available; a Get It option should pop-up. Follow the prompts to complete the ILLiad request. If the Get It option does not appear, access the ILLiad directly using the above link or the Library homepage and manually input the request. Tips: Ensure you allow ample time for fulfillment of ILLiad requests.
Journal articles and book chapters typically are electronically delivered within two business days but may take longer.
Hard-copy materials like print books take anywhere from 7-10 days, possibly longer, before ready for collection from the Info Desk.
GALILEO searches across all of the Libraries' databases at once.
Enter a few keywords and/or "key phrases", or search by title or author > Search or hit Enter/Return
As GALILEO covers a wide range of disciplines, searching within an individual, or a small set of subject-specialty databases can be more on target and efficient. It is worth trying GALILEO first, and then run a similar search in a subject database/set of databases.
Did you know EBSCOhost databases can be searched together?
Enter one of the EBSCOhost databases below> Select 'Choose Databases' > Select desired databases > OK.
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
A database covering all aspects of education and educational research.
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text information on commercially-available, standardized English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Information given on instruments includes test name and classification, author(s), publisher, publication date, price, time requirements, existence of validity and reliability data, score descriptions, levels, and intended populations.
Did you know EBSCOhost databases can be searched together?
Enter one of the EBSCOhost databases below> Select 'Choose Databases' > Select desired databases > OK.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
The table below outlines search techniques to help you find more relevant results. Go to each tab to find out more about each one.
The examples given are for searching the following research question:
Discuss classroom management interventions for dealing with bullying in the elementary classroom
Search Technique |
Format |
Example |
| Exact Phrase Searching | "key phrase" |
"classroom management" |
| Boolean Operators | AND, OR, NOT | "classroom management" OR "behavior modification" |
|
Parentheses |
(keyword/phrase BOOLEAN OPERATOR keyword/phrase) |
("classroom management" OR "behavior modification) AND bullying |
| Truncation Device | Typically an asterisk: * May vary according to database | "classroom management" OR "behavior modification) AND bully* |
| Wildcard |
Typically a pound: # , or a question mark: ? Varies from database to database. |
"classroom management" OR "behavio?r modification" AND bully* |
Exact Phrase Search
| What it does | The format | Example/s |
|---|---|---|
|
Will retrieve results containing your "key phrase" in the order that you have inputted at least once in the record details or the item contents |
"Key phrase" |
"classroom management" will find the phrase 'classroom management' at least once; it won't separate the words. |
Boolean Operators
| What they do | The format | Example |
|---|---|---|
|
Boolean operators are 'connectors'. They combine keywords or key phrases in order to narrow or expand your search. In a simple search, if you use no Boolean Operator, the default operator is typically AND. |
AND OR NOT |
"Classroom management" AND bullying AND elementary NOT "high school" |
Parentheses
| What they do | The format | Example/s |
|---|---|---|
|
Parentheses direct the search engine to perform your search in a certain order. They are great for expanding your search by combining synonyms and then connecting groups of synonyms with a Boolean Operator. |
Example: (keyword/phrase BOOLEAN OPERATOR keyword/phrase) BOOLEAN OPERATOR (keyword/phrase BOOLEAN OPERATOR keyword/phrase)
|
"classroom management" AND bullying AND (elementary OR primary) NOT "high school" |
Truncation
| What it does | The format | Example |
|---|---|---|
|
Enter part of a keyword and place the truncation symbol at the end. The database will return results that include any ending of that partial word. |
Typically an asterisk i.e. * May vary from database to database. |
"classroom management" AND bully* AND (elementary OR primary) NOT "high school" *** bully* will retrieve bully and bullying |
Wildcard
| What it does | The format | Example |
|---|---|---|
|
A wildcard will substitute a symbol for one letter of a word. Great for including spelling variations of a keyword in your search. |
Typically a question mark: ? May vary according to the database. Consult the database's 'Help' or 'Search Tips' page to verify the wildcard symbol. |
behavio?r will retrieve behavior, behaviour
|
