Skip to Main Content

Instructional Leadership: Search like a pro

A one-stop-shop on where to find articles, books, and more on Instructional Leadership topics

Database Search Like a Pro...

Up your game in database searching by utilizing these search strategies in library databases, eg., GALILEO and individual databases, like EBSCOhost, ProQuest, JSTOR, and more:

Quick Search Tips

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase. For example, "feminist art" or "art brut".

  • Input each phrase or concept in a different box. For example, Michelangelo in the first box and “Sistine Chapel” in the second will find articles about Michelangelo's work on the Sistine Chapel.

  • Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type.

  • Sort results by date or relevance, especially if requested by your professor.

  • Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search.

  • Use truncation, for example, "strateg*" will find results with strategic, strategy, strategies

 

Develop a winning Search Strategy

Game of Thrones stillWhat is a search strategy?

A "search strategy" is like your plan of attack and requires a bit of strategy to successfully execute.

A winning search strategy is:

  • Targeted and iterative - Identity different sites to deploy your search strategy. 
    • GALILEO
    • Relevant, individual databases
    • GIL-Find Catalog
    • Web search engine, like Google or Google Scholar.
  • Armed with search techniques and tactics - Enlist Boolean Operators, subject headings, parentheses, truncation and wildcard devices in your army and deploy them when needed.
  • Flexible - Tweak search strategy according to where you search.
  • Evolving - Modify the search strategy as you search. Experiment with various search techniques and tactics to see if you get different, more relevant results.

Image credit: Helen Sloan/HBO, retrieved from EW

Quick Tips

 

  • What database or resource should I use? e.g., broader topics might benefit from a subject-specific database, while very narrow searches might work best with a consolidated search such as GALILEO Discover
  • What keywords or "key phrases" stand out in my research topic? These will form your "search query".
  • What subject headings or authorized headings are associated with my topic? You typically find these in the source's record in a catalog or database.
  • What Boolean Operators can help me focus my search? AND, OR, NOT. e.g., Colleges NOT Universities
  • Are wildcards or truncation necessary and supported by my database? e.g., * is a popular truncation device. Strateg* will retrieve strategy, strategies, strategic, strategically, strategist, etc. 
  • Would I benefit from a Research Consultation with a librarian? A librarian can benefit you by
    • Recommending useful databases for your topic
    • Guiding you on structuring your search query. 
    • Showing you tips and tricks on how to expand or narrow your search.
    • And more...
The 'Search Strategy Cycle'

The Search Strategy Cycle graphic depicts the 5 main phases of establishing and executing a Search Strategy:

  1. Identify key concepts & terms (also known as 'keywords')  - these will form your "search query".
    • Graphic depicting Search Strategy cycle. 5 circles illustrate the chief phases. The headings in each circle, beginning from top, and going clockwise, is written in text on left.Identify any synonyms or related key concepts if you can.

       

  2. Select relevant databases or resources to search
    • Tip: Our Research Guides recommend top databases for a subject our course.

       

  3. Combine search terms with Boolean operators  Typical operators are AND, OR, and NOT. Some databases use NEAR. 
    • If you have synonyms, combine these with the main search terms with OR.
    • Structure your combinations with parentheses.
    • Incorporate search techniques, if applicable, like:
      • Quotation marks - to search for phrases
      • Truncation devices - to include word variations
      • Wildcard devices - to include spelling and singular vs. plural variations

         

  4. Run your search query in selected resources, eg. GALILEO, individual databases, GIL-Find catalog, Google Scholar.

     

  5. Review and refine search results
    • Most databases have a panel to easily refine your results in a range of ways.
    • GALILEO and most databases have a folder or shortlist, for saving, e-mailing, and exporting citations.  

Modify your search strategy 

Revisit a phase of the cycle to see if you can find different sources. Tips:

  • Try different synonyms.
  • Look at the subject headings and author-supplied keywords of a record, if there are any.
  • Try "backward citation searching" and "forward citation searching".
FAQ signQ) Why apply your search strategy in Library databases, rather than Google Scholar alone? 

A) Library databases typically have far more search options and can, therefore, generate more focused results in less time!

 

In order to find more relevant search results, it helps to understand the rules and structure of the database you are using (ie, how are things indexed and searched). Before using a database for the first time, consider these factors:

  • What journals or content does it search (general? subject specific?)
  • Does it have an advanced search?
  • Can you search different fields (such as author or title)?
  • Does it use Boolean (AND, OR, NOT, NEAR)?
  • Are there keywords or standard vocabulary?
  • Does spelling count or does it autocorrect?
  • Does it keep a search history? If so, can you interact with it? (e.g., create a new search from combining previous searches)
  • Are there ways to limit or filter the search results before or after you search?
  • Are wildcards supported? Which ones?

Most databases will provide information about supported search tactics in their "help" menu. When it doubt, ask a librarian. 

Pro Tips for searching in GALILEO and other databases - Quick Vids

Be friends with Boolean Operators: AND; OR; NOT. They will help you expand or narrow your search. Befriend the parentheses also - they will tell the databases how to perform your search:
Watch: How to use Boolean Operators - 2 min, 40 secs

Credit: PfauLibrary. Reused under a Creative Contributions Attribution License (reuse allowed)

Use quotation marks for an exact phrase search. E.g. "Reese Library" will search for the words, Reese Library, together, not separate Reese and Library.
Watch: Tips and Tricks: Phrase Searching 1 min video 

Utilize truncation and wildcard techniques on your keywords where relevant and applicable - they will help max your search!
Watch: Truncations and Wildcards - 2 mins, 40 secs video

Contact your Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Vonny Nogales