Research Guides: Instructional Leadership: Find articles

Quick Search Tips

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase. For example, "educational leadership".
Input each different concept in a different search field, represented by a keyword or phrase (key phrase). For example, "elementary schools" in the first field and “educational leadership” in the second will find articles containing the phrases elementary schools and educational leadership.

Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type.
Sort results by date or relevance, especially if requested by your professor.
Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search.
Use truncation, for example, "strateg*" will find results with strategic, strategy, strategies

GALILEO searches across all of the Libraries' databases at once.
Enter a few keywords and/or "key phrases", or search by title or author > Search or hit Enter/Return

Find articles in databases - a "medium level" search

Top databases
Additional databases

Why search within an individual or a set of databases rather than GALILEO?

Have you ever felt overwhelmed after a search on GALILEO? As GALILEO covers a wide range of disciplines, searching within an individual, or a small set of subject-specialty databases can be more on target and efficient. It is worth trying GALILEO first, and then run a similar search in a subject database/set of databases so you can compare and contrast your results.

Did you know EBSCOhost databases can be searched together?

Enter one of the EBSCOhost databases below> Select 'Choose Databases' > Select desired databases > OK.

Education Database (Proquest)
Education Database (ProQuest) gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
Education Source
Education Source (EBSCOhost) offers the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. It covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) is a database covering all aspects of education and educational research.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies™ (EBSCOhost) provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database.
Professional Development Collection (education)
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost) is a specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators that includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.

Did you know EBSCOhost databases can be searched together?
Enter one of the EBSCOhost databases below> Select 'Choose Databases' > Select desired databases > OK.

ERIC (at www.eric.ed.gov)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. The ERIC website is available to the public for searching more than one million citations going back to 1966.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Project Muse
Project Muse, similar to JSTOR, is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
PsycARTICLES
APA PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association, includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO
APA PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost) is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Social Science Database (ProQuest) is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics,

Contact your Liaison Librarian

Vonny Nogales

Email Me