Research and Data Management Services

Databases

• Cochrane Library of Databases - collection of databases from the Cochrane Collaboration; a group of health practitioners, researchers, patient advocates, and others who review the evidence and create useful summaries for informing decision-making in patient care.

• Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research-  data archive of over 250, 000 files in behavioral and social sciences research. Themed collections include aging, arts, civics, criminal justice, health, teaching and learning. 

• JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments - a peer reviewed scientific video journal established in 2006; combines video demonstrations with precise procedural descriptions that illustrate key biomedical research methods. JoVE video topics encompass biological, chemical, medical, and physical research techniques. 

• Journal Citation Reports - a resource for systematic, objective data to critically evaluate journals, with quantifiable measures; helps  measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals

• Ovid-MEDLINE - MEDLINE provided through Ovid, breaks the MEDLINE database into citations arranged by Journal articles addressing clinical questions. Publication types included are clinical trials, RCT, double blind studies, and case reports.  MEDLINE has evidence-based filters for the “Big Four” categories of therapy, prognosis, etiology or diagnosis as well as cost, economics and practice guidelines. Ovid EBM filters are on the limits page.

• PubMed - Contains over 4 million citations and abstracts, providing access to worldwide biomedical literature.  Contains journal articles addressing clinical questions. Publication types included are clinical trials, RCT, double blind studies, and case reports.  Evidence-based filters for the “Big Four” categories of therapy, prognosis, etiology or diagnosis as well as cost, economics and practice guidelines are available through the Clinical Queries search on the homepage.

• PsycINFO - The American Psychological Association's (APA) resources for abstracts or scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.  It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 

• Research Library- one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals and trade publications.

• Web of Science - ​High quality, multidisciplinary scientific resource, which which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline​

• Read more below about clinical trials, eboooks, ejournals and research protocol resources. 
• Need assistance searching a database? View tutorials or contact a librarian. 

Brain Research Protocols

• Research techniques in molecular, developmental, and cognitive brain research from 1997-2005. Newer protocols are now published within Brain Research. 

Biological Procedures Online

• Open access, peer-reviewed journal publishing techniques and methods in the medical and biological sciences. Includes new techniques and applications and analysis of existing techniques. 

Current Protocols in Cell Biology

• Research tips for studying the relationships between specific molecules and genes and their location, function, and structure at the cellular level.

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology

• Protocols include basic methods for DNA preparation, advanced microarray analysis, chromatin assembly, and emerging areas of molecular research.​

Nature Protocols

• Provides cross-disciplinary research techniques and methods. Subject areas include biochemistry, cell biology, genetic analysis, immunology, neuroscience, and structure analysis.

Protocols Online, Your Lab's Reference Book

• Free database of molecular biology protocols contributed by researchers worldwide.

Protocol Exchange

• Nature Protocols YouTube channel of open access detailed experimental science  methodologies videos.

VADLO

• Search for molecular biology methods, techniques and protocols.

Centerwatch

• 80,000 industry-funded global clinical trials across hundreds of disease conditions and phases
• Register for alerts of new clinical trials matching your clinical/geographic specifications
• Register your profile to be compared to sponsor requests for clinical investigators

ClinicalTrials.gov

• Registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants 
•  Currently lists 208,560 + studies from 191 countries
• Trial registration required for many journal publications

 CONSORT

• Evidence-based recommendations for reporting randomized trials
• Checklist for reporting how trial was designed, analyzed, and interpreted
• Flow diagram to display progress of all participants through trial

HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)nformation about not yet published research projects. 

• Information about research projects that have not yet published results 
• Research-in-progress funded by federal, state, private organizations, and foundation grants and contracts

NIH RePORT

• Central access point for reports, data, and analyses of NIH research
• Search repository of NIH funding for past 25 years

PROSPERO

• International database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health care
• Compare reported review methods with planned protocol

WHO International Trials Registry

• Bridges multiple records for the same trial
• Links to original trial record and full-text when available