Research and Data Management Services

Collaborate with a Librarian 

Do you need assistance conducting a systematic review for publication? Librarians at the Greenblatt Library can help! The image to the right depicts how librarians can assist throughout the systematic review process. To find contact information on the embedded librarian for your college visit the Embedded Librarian or Library Liaison research guides.

Why should I collaborate with a librarian on a systematic review? 

• Engaging medical librarians to improve the quality of review articles: JAMA recommends collaborating with medical when writing review articles. Empirical evidence provides a strong rationale for searching multiple databases, increasing complexity of the search process and authors’ time constraints.
• The systematic review team: contributions of the health sciences librarian: Librarians contribute to systematic reviews through communicating methods of the review process, collaboratively formulating the research question and exclusion criteria, formulating the search strategy on a variety of databases, documenting the searches, record keeping, and writing the search methodology

Read below to learn more about:

• Systematic review overview
• Systematic review process
• Standards for conducting systematic reviews
• Systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines
• Databases & resources
• Discipline specific resources
• Tips and tools

Definition of Systematic Review:

  --- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality 

• Defined process for  identifying, appraising, and synthesizing all relevant studies on a particular topic
• Involves a detailed and comprehensive plan and search strategy derived a priori with the goal of reducing bias

Systematic Review vs. Meta-analysis 

• Meta-anlaysis uses statistical methods to synthesize data from multiple studies to address research questions 
• Meta-anlaysis is frequently part of a systematic review, however, a meta-analysis may have more limited scope 
• Systematic review can be qualitative research and not require a meta-analysis or in-depth statistical analysis

The Institute of Medicine created an interactive diagram to assist researchers in understanding the system of developing systematic reviews and clinical guidelines. Click the image below to visit the website.

Set of databases of systematic reviews and research focus database subsets

• DARE( Database of Reviews of Effectiveness)
• Cochrane Methodology Register
• Economic Evaluations
• Health Technology Assessments 

AHRQ Systematic Review Data Repository

• Tool for extraction and management of systematic review and meta-analysis data  
• Open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and  SR data
• Includes published projects and registries 

Trip Database

• Clinical search engine designed to find high-quality research evidence to support patient care 
• Results sorted by primary and secondary evidence sources
• Includes systematic reviews and practice guidelines and evidence synopses 

TOXNET

• Search toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic release databases 
• Major resources include
  • ChemIDplus 
  • Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD)
  • Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
  • TOXLINE 

OT seeker

• Abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, and OT intervention resources 
• Trials are critically appraised for their validity and interpretability

PEDro

•  32,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines
• Trials are independently assessed for quality

Psychological Database For Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy

Studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments  for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI)

REHABDATA 

 80,000 documents on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, and employment

Systematic Review Steps

1. Formulate the review question
2. Define inclusion and exclusion criteria
3. Develop search strategy and locate studies
4. Select studies
5. Extract data
6. Assess study quality
7. Analyze and interpret results
8. Disseminate findings 

​Uman, L. S. (2011). Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses. Journal of the Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 20(1), 57–59.

Image Source: 

• A systematic review is a complex process requiring expertise in literature searching, clinical or basis science content, and data analysis.
• Multiple standards and guidelines are available to assist researchers from developing the initial research question to publication of the final results.
•  A systematic review is a team-based approach that combine evidence from exisitng studies into in-depth analysis to change clinical practice.  

• Recommended 21 standards to ensure objective, transparent,and scientifically valid reviews
• Systematic review teams must: 
  • Explain reasoning for each recommendation
  • Assess quality, completeness,and consistency of  available evidence
  • Should not limit evaluations to published literature or single database
  •  Clearly describe methodology, selection criteria, and assessment of evidence
    

Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)

• Focuses on reporting of reviews for randomized trials 
• Can be used for other research, particularly evaluations of interventions
• Created protocol checklist

Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews​

• Detailed description of review components including key points, methods and references
• Individual chapters for refining topic, avoiding bias, comparing medical interventions, and data analysis
• Separate guide for medical test reviews
• Training modules available 

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions

• Online handbook describing the specific requirements for publication as a Cochrane Review
• Content includes study selection methodology, addressing bias, and result reporting
• Special topics include economic evidence, patient outcomes, and qualitative research 

equator network

•  Comprehensive searchable database of reporting guidelines 
• Toolkits for authors, editors, and guideline developers

How To Write A Systematic Review

Article outlines how to conduct a systematic review, understand difference between meta-analyses and systematic review, and explains the necessary steps for a systematic review. 

Google Scholar For Systematic Reviews

Blog post explaining the limitations of "googling" for systematic reviews

Yale Systematic Review Tutorials​

Brief 7-10 minute videos showing steps of systematic review process