Cashin, Edward J. The Story of Augusta. Augusta, Ga.: Richmond County Board of Education, 1980. Print. F294.A9 C385x 1980
Jones, Charles Colcock, and Salem Dutcher. Memorial History of Augusta, Georgia: From Its Settlement in 1735 to the Close of the Eighteenth Century. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co., 1980. Print.F294.A9 J6 1980
Augusta.(American Guide Series) Augusta, Ga.: Tidwell Printing Supply Co., 1938. Print.S.C. F294.A9 F4
This list includes works on Augusta, Augusta persons and Augusta institutions by Edward Cashin, Helen Callahan, Arthur Ray Rowland and James Garvey
For a better formatted list, please send an email to spcoll@aug.edu and request "City as Text" Works List in the subject line
Galileo
America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Augusta Chronicle Archives. Earliest issue: January 01, 1792 Latest issue: December 31, 1993 Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Suggested Digital Resources in the Digital Library of Georgia
The African American Funeral Programs from the East Central Georgia Regional Library online collection consists of over one thousand funeral programs ranging from 1933 to 2008 (with the bulk of the collection beginning in the 1960s) from the Eula M. Ramsey Johnson Memorial Funeral Program Collection. A majority of the programs are from churches in Augusta, Georgia, and the surrounding area, with a few outliers in other states such as New York and Florida. The programs typically contain a photograph of the deceased, an obituary, a list of surviving relatives, and the order of service. The collection provides extensive genealogical information about the deceased, including birth and death dates, maiden names, names of relatives, past residences, and place of burial. Alongside this genealogical information, the obituaries provide a rich source of local history about African Americans. Many of the people included in this collection were prominent in their communities, and many were involved locally in the struggle for civil rights.
The Clifford H. (Baldy) Baldowski Editorial Cartoons at the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies contains 6,740 pen and ink drawings and 2,460 velox. The digital database contains approximately 2,600 cartoons from the collection. Clifford H. Baldowski, known by the pen-name "Baldy," depicted the local, national, and international news of his day in the editorial pages of the Augusta Chronicle, Miami Herald, and Atlanta Constitution. His work is a rich source of information for those studying political reorganization in Georgia and the growth of Atlanta as well as the Civil Rights Movement, the Cold War, the Vietnam conflict, Middle East tensions, and Watergate
The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement through its three principal components:
In recognition of the sesquicentennial of the start of the American Civil War, Civil War in the American South provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). ASERL members hold deep and extensive collections documenting the history and culture of the American South, developed over hundreds of years to support scholarly research and teaching. Many of the special or unique manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other materials have been digitized to provide broader access to these documents for scholars and students around the world. Civil War in the American South is a collaborative initiative to provide a single, shared point of access to the Civil War digital collections held at many individual libraries.
Picturing Augusta: Historic Postcards from the Collection of the East Central Georgia Regional Library System consists of forty turn-of-the-twentieth century Augusta-related picture postcards selected from the collection Augusta and Environs: Picture Post Cards in Color held at the East Central Georgia Regional Library in Augusta, Georgia. The postcards in this collection depict the commercial development, economic prosperity, and social customs of Augusta and its inhabitants during the opening years of the twentieth century. Furthermore, the picture postcards document the interplay between Augusta, Georgia, North Augusta, South Carolina, and Summerville, Georgia before and immediately following Summerville's incorporation into the city of Augusta in 1912.
Robert E. Williams Photographic Collection: African-Americans in the Augusta, Ga. Vicinity (Richmond Co.) consists of 86 glass plate negatives and positive prints of African-Americans in the Augusta, Richmond County, Georgia area. Robert E. Williams, an African-American photographer, operated a studio, R. Williams and Son, in Augusta, Georgia, from 1888 until around 1908. The photographs depict dwellings and domestic chores, rituals of baptism, harvesting and transporting cotton, vehicles and transportation, and children and family life. Eighty-four of the images are presented online, as two of the negatives are copies
Sanborn® Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities, 1884-1922 consists of fire insurance maps created by the Sanborn Map Company that depict the commercial, industrial, and residential areas of Georgia cities. The highly-detailed, color-coded maps document the changing face of Georgia cities by depicting not only the community but also each building, block, and neighborhood. The maps detail building construction, sizes, and usage as well as city services such as water and fire services.
Loose Photographs Collections Database - is an access database containing 1800 scans of photographs relating to Augusta Georgia. The file can be searched by subject and keyword. You must visit Special Collections to access this database
Reese Library Verticle File for Augusta-Richmond County - This is a 40 year old clipping file on Augusta Georgia and the surrounding Richmond County. While the majority of the material consists of newspaper clippings, there are in some cases programs and brochures of interest. You must ask at access services to use this file in the Reference area.