Library databases contain scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, reports, and much more that probably won't be available freely on the Internet. That's because much of the materials needed to do proper research are behind paywalls. The library helps you by giving you access to these materials through databases.
Discovery - A discovery search is a kind of search that search multiple databases at once. This is great if you have a very developed search strategy, but just starting out it can be overwhelming when you return 1 million+ articles! Another downside to discover searches is that they do not search every database and often favor certain databases over others. Our discover search is called GALILEO Discover and is the default search on our homepage.
Multidisciplinary - Some databases cover many different discipline areas. These are great alternatives to discovery searching when you are first starting out. You will find articles from many different areas though, so be careful about what is appropriate for your topic and assignment. Examples include Academic Search Complete and Research Library.
Subject Specific - Most databases are subject-specific, which means they cover only one specific subject area or group of subject areas. This means that doing a search in these databases is narrowing your field down tremendously and you will only get results from the subject you are searching. Examples include SOCIndex or Political Science Database.
Publisher Specific - Some databases have only content from a specific publisher and can be multidisciplinary or subject-specific. For example, the database Science Direct only has content from the publisher Elsevier.
Specialized - Some databases have specialized content and can be used to find specific kinds of information. For example, Westlaw has information about legal cases and news stories.
GALILEO searches across all of the Libraries' databases at once.
Enter a few keywords and/or "key phrases", or search by title or author > Search or hit Enter/Return
Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.
Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Access to full-text books and journal articles from all subject collections published by Elsevier Science. Disciplines include health sciences, physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Although we do not have any anthropology databases, there are some databases that can be helpful in finding anthropological research.
First, think of the topic. Is it a health-related topic? Try a health sciences database. Does if have to do with children? Try an education database. Does it have to do with politics? Try a political science database. While this isn't perfect, it can help you find relevant anthropology resources from other disciplinary sources.
Second, include terms such as anthropolog*, archaeolog*, ethnograph*, etc. in your search to help narrow to those resources most useful to you.
The following resources can be used on the web to help you find anthropological sources. Some, such as the Anthropological Index Online and AnthroSource do not include full-text, so you will need to find the citation through the Libraries' resources or use ILL.