Political Science Resources: Using Databases

ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, 

SocINDEX with Full Text features over 1 million records with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This database also contains abstracts for over 1,000 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. Indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is also included. 

The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.

A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers.

Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.

Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage: 1971 - present.

Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.

America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history.