Kinesiology and Health Science: Search like a pro!

• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase. For example, "feminist art" or "art brut".
• Input each phrase or concept in a different box. For example, Michelangelo in the first box and “Sistine Chapel” in the second will find articles about Michelangelo's work on the Sistine Chapel.
• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type.
• Sort results by date or relevance, especially if requested by your professor.
• Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search.
• Use truncation, for example, "strateg*" will find results with strategic, strategy, strategies

How do you begin a deep literature search?

One way is to search using whatever words or phrases you know. Librarians refer to these as keywords or key phrases.

Another way is to use the words the database developers use to describe the contents of the article. These are called "subject headings", and are sometimes called DESCRIPTORS in the research databases.

Steps for beginning a deep literature search: 

1.  Write down your topic and select important keywords to search for. Include synonyms for each keyword.
    
2.  Select the best database to begin your search in. If your topic is exclusively about kinesiology and training issues, start with SPORTDiscus. If your topic deals primarily with the classroom or school environment, start with ERIC and Education Fulltext; if it employs clinical concepts (e.g., injuries), take a look at some of the health-related resources beyond those linked to athletics. 
    
3. Use the 'advanced search' interface wherever possible. It will give you more intuitive ways to combine concepts, and easier ways to find research studies.
    
4.  If your database of choice has a controlled vocabulary, use it; SPORTDiscus, ERIC, and PsycINFO have thesauri which spell out not only the terminology but the relationships between terms. Subject headings or descriptors that describe a useful study will give you good terms to use to redefine or expand a search. Looking at the relationships between terms is also useful in deciding how to define your search. Most of these thesauri are searchable components of the corresponding online databases.
    
5.  Generally speaking, the more terms you combine in a database search, the more precise -- and narrow -- your results will be. If you retrieve too few items, try dropping some combinations from your search strategy.
    
6.  Scan the first 10-20 records of the results. If they don't match what you want, try a different combination. PERSEVERE!
    
7.  Look at the reference lists of the sources you're using. If the same studies are cited over and over, no matter how old they are, be sure to look up those studies too, whether they appear in your list of database results or not.
    
8.  When you find an article, research study, book, or another source that fits well with your topic, make note of the author's sources, as these may also be good leads for you to follow in your own review. This is particularly important when you are reviewing a topic which has not had a lot of research or publication devoted to it.