Kinesiology and Health Science: Starting points: Find books

This comprehensive and exhaustive reference work on the subject of education from the primary grades through higher education combines educational theory with practice, making it a unique contribution to the educational reference market. Issues related to human development and learning are examined by individuals whose specializations are in diverse areas including education, psychology, sociology, philosophy, law, and medicine. The book focuses on important themes in education and human development. Authors consider each entry from the perspective of its social and political conditions as well as historical underpinnings. The book also explores the people whose contributions have played a seminal role in the shaping of educational ideas, institutions, and organizations, and includes entries on these institutions and organizations. This work integrates numerous theoretical frameworks with field based applications from many areas in educational research.

Authored by renowned UEFA medical specialists in the medical care of football players, this three-volume series-sourced from the course materials used in UEFA's Doctor Education Program-aims to familiarize clinicians with a structured system of assessment and care in dealing with the wide variety of injuries that can afflict professional footballers. Volume 1 instructs on advanced techniques for managing the treatment of serious and life-threatening on-field injury. Key Topics of Volume 1: Initial assessment Cardiac arrest and choking Medical emergencies Head injuries and concussion General management The Encyclopedia of Football Medicine will be essential reading for physicians working for football teams, orthopaedists, sports medicine physicians, and specialized physical therapists.

Concise and extensively cross-referenced, this volume is the perfect one-stop guide to the often-confusing mass of nutritional information available today. More than 2,500 entries provide the essential information readers want to know about nutrition and good health. Coverage includes food ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the health benefits and dangers of foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; processed foods and their side effects; the link between certain foods and cancer; food allergies; eating disorders; and much more. This edition is comprised of approximately 30 percent new material, including several new appendixes.

Entries define and trace the origin and development of golfing terms.

Since the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the firstreference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history.In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensivehistorical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than2,000 illustrations.Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the International Encyclopedia of Dance is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it will be an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection.

Lynn Lippert adds a greater emphasis onclinical insights and functional connections toher easy-to-understand, well-organized 4thedition text. This accurate and thoughtfullyupdated edition is what should be at the heartof your clinical kinesiology course to helpstudents analyze the mobility of specific jointsin various activities of daily living. The firstseven chapters describe the various bodysystems, terminology, and biomechanicalprinciples that will be applied in the individualjoint chapters that follow.

Kinesiology is a system of natural health care that combines muscle testing with the principles of Chinese medicine to assess energy and body function. A touch therapy, it uses a range of gentle yet powerful healing techniques and can be effective in the treatment of many conditions, including allergies, backache, fatigue, emotional difficulties, headaches and skin and bowel problems. This book describes how kinesiology can help with these problems by correcting imbalances found in the different forms of kinesiology assessment. This introductory guide explains how kinesiology works, how to find a practitioner and how it is usefully applied with other therapies, as well as how self-help techniques can be applied. It will be of interest to anyone considering kinesiology treatment, or simply wanting to find out more about this healing system. Students and practitioners of kinesiology and related practices will find it to be a useful reference, and a perfect introduction to recommend to clients.

Providing a solid foundation in the normal development of functional movement, Functional Movement Development Across the Life Span, 3rd Edition helps you recognize and understand movement disorders and effectively manage patients with abnormal motor function. It begins with coverage of basic theory, motor development and motor control, and evaluation of function, then discusses the body systems contributing to functional movement, and defines functional movement outcomes in terms of age, vital functions, posture and balance, locomotion, prehension, and health and illness. This edition includes more clinical examples and applications, and updates data relating to typical performance on standardized tests of balance. Written by physical therapy experts Donna J. Cech and Suzanne "Tink" Martin, this book provides evidence-based information and tools you need to understand functional movement and manage patients' functional skills throughout the life span. Over 200 illustrations, tables, and special features clarify developmental concepts, address clinical implications, and summarize key points relating to clinical practice.A focus on evidence-based information covers development changes across the life span and how they impact function.A logical, easy-to-read format includes 15 chapters organized into three units covering basics, body systems, and age-related functional outcomes respectively. Expanded integration of ICF (International Classification of Function) aligns learning and critical thinking with current health care models. Additional clinical examples help you apply developmental information to clinical practice. Expanded content on assessment of function now includes discussion of participation level standardized assessments and assessments of quality-of-life scales. More concise information on the normal anatomy and physiology of each body system allows a sharper focus on development changes across the lifespan and how they impact function.

An In Depth Guide to Sports opens with a review of the study of different biochemical profiles, through the analysis of the results obtained in different works carried out by a biochemical group and based on the literature reviewed. Biochemical profiles will be analysed: haematological, endocrinological and clinical chemistry of athletes who perform team sports, with intermittent characteristics.

The second edition of this best-selling pediatric sports medicine resource provides step-by-step demonstrations of the examination and evaluation techniques for common sports injuries. The book includes more than 100 images, plus 2+ hours of video covering physical examination keys; when to order radiographs, CT scans, and MRIs; treatment plan development; case-based coverage of common injuries, including ankle and foot, knee and lower leg, shoulder, wrist and elbow, hip and spine, and concussions and preventive strategies. This all encompassing resource allows you to: Walk through case studies that highlight the issues most commonly seen at specific stages of development. View examinations and tests that can help you identify the extent and location of injury. See demonstrations of preventive strengthening exercises. Use proven approaches to diagnosing and managing sports injuries to improve your practice. Learn which test results to obtain and when. And more! New features All chapters fully reviewed and updated New chapter on Trends in Prevention of Sports Injury in the Young Athlete 5 new sport-specific chapters on Soccer Baseball Collision sports (football, hockey, lacrosse, and rugby) Gymnastics Running Chapters provide Overview of the sport(s) Overview of the sport history and demographic information in young athletes Cases-based scenarios that highlight the major issues in the sport Suggestions on how pediatric health professionals can ensure the safest sport experience in the sport

Sport/Fitness/Culture provides an overview of the sociocultural factors that influence sport, physical activity and fitness. An interdisciplinary theoretical background is followed by an analysis on current issues of importance.

This is the first book dedicated to the musculoskeletal, physiological, hormonal, and other differences between the sexes as they manifest in sports medicine. Organized anatomically from head to toe, this unique reference focuses on the sex-specific differences of men and women to inform clinical care and the management of common sports injuries. Other chapters cover nutrition, hormones, concussion, pain, sports cardiology and pulmonology, and the particular care of adolescent and geriatric patients. The editors have assembled a world-class team of specialists to collaborate on each chapter, and specially commissioned illustrations and tables help visualize the data and findings. While some books focus on “the female athlete” as a discrete category, this book discusses how the many physical stresses of athletics affect both sexes based on the inherent biological differences. The goal is to foster a more comprehensive understanding of the latest research and practice in sports medicine as it applies to all patients. As the field of sports medicine has grown exponentially over the last few decades, this book will serve as an essential resource for physicians, trainers, coaches, and anyone involved in athletics and medicine. Key Features: Provides an evidence-based review of how sex differences affect the risk of injury, presentation, and clinical course of sports-related injuries Anatomically based chapters highlight differences in static structures, dynamic movement, and pathology between the sexes Authors summarize key differences at the end of each chapter Includes special chapters on running and throwing, sports cardiology, sports pulmonology, nutrition, and unique athlete populations.

The author relates his holistic view of human health within this text. Holistic health has existed for many years in China as well as India, two great Asian civilizations that continue to this day. There is advocacy for the ordinary person to take back control of their daily nutrition and their overall health. Since some of the practices of Big Agriculture and Big Foods seem to be in contradiction to personal health, people need updated guidelines to lead them out of the quagmire that is the food market. This book, the fifth in a mini-series, will be suitable for a nutritional or an epidemiology course, as well as for the general consumer, who desperately needs guidance, especially those of us in the industrialized western nations. Topics covered include consumption of healthy fats, freezing, and salting of foods, hot chili peppers, as well as topics involving aggression, diabetes, and ADHD.

Nutrition Assessment will address the techniques used in an in-depth evaluation of the data related to an individual's food and nutrient intake, lifestyle, and medical history. Emphasis will be placed on evidence-based components of nutrition assessment, including dietary intake, measurement of the human body (anthropometry) and biochemical assessment. The text will address the role of nutrition assessment as part of the Nutrition Care Process and will introduce readers to advancements in technology for measuring various inputs and outcomes related to effective nutrition assessment.

Now widely adopted on courses throughout the world, the prestigious Nutrition Society Textbook series provides students with the scientific basics in nutrition in the context of a systems and disease approach rather than on a nutrient by nutrient basis. In addition books provide a means to enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. This NS Textbook on Sport and Exercise Nutrition has been written to cover the latest information on the science and practice of sport and exercise nutrition. A key concept behind this textbook is that it aims to combine the viewpoints of world leading nutrition experts from both academia/research and a practical stand point. Plus where necessary there are additional practitioner based authors to ensure theory is translated into practice for each chapter in the form of either 'practice tips' or 'information sheets' at the end of relevant chapters. The textbook in essence can be divided into three distinct but integrated parts: Part 1: covers the key components of the science that supports the practice of sport and exercise nutrition including comprehensive reviews on: nutrients both in general and as exercise fuels; exercise physiology; hydration, micronutrients; and supplements. Part 2: moves into focusing on specific nutrition strategies to support different types of training including: resistance; power/sprint; middle distance/speed endurance; endurance; technical/skill, team; and specific competition nutrition needs.The unique format of this textbook is that it breaks down nutrition support into training specific as opposed to the traditional sport specific support. This reflects the majority of current sport and exercise requirements of the need to undertake concurrent training and therefore facilitating targeted nutrition support to the different training components through the various macro and micro training cycles.Part 3: explores some of the practical issues encountered in working in the sport and exercise nutrition field and includes key sport related topics such as: disability sport; weight management; eating disorders; bone and gut health; immunity; injury; travel; and special populations and situations. READERSHIP: Students of nutrition and dietetics at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. All those working in the field of nutrition and related health sciences.

This book explores the relevance of sports nutrition for athletes and active individuals in a way that allows nutrition professionals to provide appropriate and consequential recommendations to this population. Concepts of energy metabolism and energy balance are addressed and the book offers applicable macronutrient recommendations that incorporate the timing of their intake relative to sport. There is a thorough explanation of the athlete assessment allowing the nutrition professional in gathering all relevant information to support proper meal planning and nutrient recommendations. Given the high usage of dietary supplements, this book identifies dietary supplements most commonly employed by athletes and then breaks down the quality of science behind these supplements. Finally, this book addresses special issues of concerns of athletes, including weight management, potential nutrient deficiencies, and specific dietary approaches. The ultimate aim of this book is that a nutrition professional working with population is armed with the information necessary to provide practical and meaningful recommendations.

This text provides science-based nutrition recommendations that support the optimal performance and well being of young athletes. The authors give an overview of sports nutrition fundamentals, including a breakdown of the macronutrient, micronutrient, and hydration recommendations, as well as optimal quantity and timing of nutrient intake. They also discuss weight management and how to support athletes in achieving healthy weight gain or weight loss; disordered eating and eating disorders signs, symptoms, and treatment; and risks and benefits of dietary supplements. This text concludes with delicious and nutritious meal and snack recipes and a list of reputable resources. Ultimately, this text is a practical, meaningful, and applied sport nutrition resource for exercise professionals across a wide range of disciplines.