Africa: History and Culture: Find Archival Material

The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections. Ancestry Library Edition updates continually, with more indexes and original images added all the time.

Brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Documents are sourced from top libraries and archives like Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society, New York Public Library, Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, Inc., and others.

A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and the tools to actively use those images. Founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching, and learning in the arts and associated fields

The New York Times Archives allows users to search across the archives of the New York Times from 1851 to 1980. Many articles are available in full text free of charge. Others require a nominal fee to view the full article.

Access to Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive includes:

Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
Part III: The Institution of Slavery
Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

This database contains:
5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliotheque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.

The Times (London) Digital Archive is a searchable full-text facsimile database of more than 200 years of The Times, the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication and one of the most highly regarded primary-source resources for historical research on the late 18th, 19th, 20th, and early 21st centuries.l

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the result of the African Origins Project, a scholar-public collaborative endeavor to trace the geographic origins of Africans transported in the transatlantic slave trade. Many have contributed to this international research project, which is based at Emory University.