Sometimes, you may find a citation to an article or a book in a database, but you can't get to the full text or the library does not have a copy of the book. It turns out that you might be able to the article in a different database, in print, or request it from another library. You can also request a copy of the book from another library. Read on for more information or jump to the section you need from the table of contents below..
Step 1: See if we have the full text in another database.
Step 3: Request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Step 3: Request the book through Interlibrary Loan.
Search the Journals A-Z list to see if we have the full text of the article online by looking to see if we have electronic access to the journal. If you find it, click the full-text access link to search for the article title. Be sure to look at the coverage dates to make sure that we have electronic access to the issue you need!
Can't find it?
Print journals are on the second floor of Reese Library and Greenblatt Library (location will be included in your search results).
Note: Just because we have a particular journal title does not mean that we will always have the issue you need in print. This search will let you know what years and volumes of the journal we have available in print.
Still can't find it?
Interlibrary loan allows libraries around the world to share materials with patrons in other libraries. If you have never used Interlibrary Loan before, click "First Time Users" (as highlighted in the photo below) and register for an account. Otherwise, enter your ILLIAD username and password.
Once you are logged in, you can request a copy of the article by clicking "Article" in the "New Request" section in the left hand menu.
On the following page, fill in what you know about the article (the more information, the better) and submit your request. We will then contact other libraries and try to get the article for you. We are usually able to process these requests at no extra charge to you within a few business days of receipt. Once it is available, you will be notified by email. You can then log back in to ILLIAD and get an electronic copy of your article.
Note: The rarer an item is, the longer it can take to process. Please note that we occasionally do have to charge an extra fee (we let you know if there will be a charge), and sometimes other libraries are not willing to loan a particular item (typically for a good reason!).
Can't find it?
Before you begin, make sure you are logged in. All you will need is your JagID and password. When you find the book you want, click the "Get It" link in order to have the book sent to Reese Library. Then, click the "More Libraries" link.
A pop-up will appear and you will click on a library that has the book.
Once the record for the institution you have clicked on appears, click "Request."
A new form will appear. Set your Pickup Institution to Augusta University and the library to either Reese or Greenblatt. Then click "Request."
Once the request has been submitted, the lending library will process the request. Most of the time, the library will find the book and send it to us (every once in a while, you might request a book that is missing or that is only available to that school's students). Once we receive it, we will send you an email letting you know that the book you requested is in and you can come pick it up at the Information Desk in the library.
Still can't find it?
Interlibrary loan allows libraries around the world to share materials with patrons in other libraries. Never used it? Click the "First time users" link under the login boxes to set up a free account.
Once you are logged in, you can request a copy of the book by clicking "Book" in the "New Request" section in the left hand menu.
On the following page, fill in what you know about the book (the more information, the better) and submit your request. We will then contact other libraries and try to get the book for you. The books will be mailed to us, so this process can take some time. Once it is available, you will be notified by email to come and pick it up.
