Biostatistics and Public Health Resources

Databases

AIDSource (National Library of Medicine) access to a comprehensive collection of AIDS/HIV-related resources in both English and Spanish

Disaster Lit (NIH) links to guidelines, reports, proceedings, training, fact sheets, etc. for professional audiences.

ICPSR  (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)  data archive of research in the social and behavioral sciences and 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields

NICHSR One Search Search all the NICHSR databases and web portals (HSRProj, HSRR, HSRIC and PHPartners) with one simple search.

• Health Services Research Information Central  (HSRIC) Provides links to data, funding announcements, reports, podcasts, discussion groups, and more

• Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR) Database records of datasets, instruments, and software for clinical records, discharge summaries, claims records, epidemiological surveys, health/ behavioral/ social surveys, disease registries, birth registries, and data about practitioners, programs, and facilities. Does not contain the actual data, but provides a record of where to find the datasets.

• Health Services Research Projects (HSRProj) Provides information about research-in-progress before results are available in a published format

PubMed (National Library of Medicine) citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books

Public Health (Proquest) citations to scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, blogs, podcasts, wire feeds, and more

WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of sources.

WONDER  (CDC) ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data

Mapping and Visualization

United States

Blue Cross Blue Shield Health Index  Over 200 different health conditions to identify which diseases and conditions most affect Americans' longevity and quality of life.

Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Open Data  Leading indicators for chronic diseases and risk factors by state, age, gender, and race/ethnicity

Community Health Maps (National Library of Medicine)  facilitates the use of low cost GIS mapping tools to collect, analyze, and visualize public health mapping data and to enhance community mapping initiatives

NCHHSTP ATLAS Plus (National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD and TB Prevention) Customizable tables, maps, and charts using more than 15 years of CDC’s surveillance data on HIV, viral hepatitis, STD, and TB. AtlasPlus also provides access to indicators on social determinants of health

Global

Data Visualizations Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IMHE)  impartial, evidence-based picture of global health trends to inform the work of policymakers, researchers, and funders

STATcompiler provides custom tables based on the Demographic and Health Surveys from USAID across more than 90 countries.

Data Collection

Rand Healthcare Surveys surveys on about a dozen topics available to the public without charge

Surveys and Data Collection Systems (NCHS)  includes population and provider surveys, vital records, and historical surveys