Special Education: Find books

Includes online access to new, customizable WJ IV score tables, graphs, and forms for clinicians Woodcock-Johnson IV: Reports, Recommendations, and Strategies offers psychologists, clinicians, and educators an essential resource for preparing and writing psychological and educational reports after administering the Woodcock-Johnson IV. Written by Drs. Nancy Mather and Lynne E. Jaffe, this text enhances comprehension and use of this instrument and its many interpretive features. This book offers helpful information for understanding and using the WJ IV scores, provides tips to facilitate interpretation of test results, and includes sample diagnostic reports of students with various educational needs from kindergarten to the postsecondary level. The book also provides a wide variety of recommendations for cognitive abilities; oral language; and the achievement areas of reading, written language, and mathematics. It also provides guidelines for evaluators and recommendations focused on special populations, such as sensory impairments, autism, English Language Learners, and gifted and twice exceptional students, as well as recommendations for the use of assistive technology. The final section provides descriptions of the academic and behavioral strategies mentioned in the reports and recommendations.

The step-by-step guide to administering, scoring, and interpreting the WJ IV® Tests of Cognitive Abilities Essentials of WJ IV® Cognitive Abilities Assessment provides expert, practical advice on how to administer, score, and interpret the WJ IV COG®. Designed to be an easy-to-use reference, the text goes beyond the information found in the WJ IV® examiner's manual to offer full explanations of the tests and clusters on the WJ IV COG®. This essential guide also explains the meaning of all scores and interpretive features and includes valuable advice on clinical applications and illuminating case studies. This clearly written and easily accessible resource offers: Concise chapters with numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, numerous examples, and test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. An in-depth chapter on interpretation of the WJ IV COG® which highlights links to interventions for each test based on contemporary theory and research. Expert assessment of the tests' relative strengths and weaknesses. Illustrative case reports with clinical and school-based populations.

Provides practical, step-by-step guidelines to administering, scoring, and interpreting the achievement portion of the WJ IV®. This easy-to-use reference goes beyond the information found in the WJ IV® test manuals. It offers full explanations of the tests and clusters on the WJ IV® ACH and explains the meaning of all scores and interpretive features. In addition, the authors offer valuable advice on clinical applications and illuminating case studies. Features include: Clear instructions on how the WJ IV® ACH and the WJ IV® Tests of Oral Language can be used together to increase diagnostic utility. Expert assessment of the tests' relative strengths and weaknesses. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered.

The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds. Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research Addresses disabilities from an international perspective

Special Educational Needs, Inclusion and Diversity is the definitive handbook for student teachers, newly qualified teachers, trainee educational psychologists, SENCO's and SEN Specialist Teachers.

The volume will be divided into four parts. Part 1 will present an overview on disability that focuses on two major themes, namely, the biopsychosocial approaches to disability and cultural views of disability. Part 2 will examine five major areas of high incidence exceptionalities: cognitive impairment, learning disabilities and attention deficit hyperactivity, autism spectrum disorders, behavioural/emotional disorders and speech and language disorders.

This user-friendly book presents research-based best practices for serving families of children with special needs from birth to age 6. Expert contributors demonstrate how early intervention and early childhood special education can effectively address a wide range of family concerns, which in turn optimizes children's development and learning. Tightly edited, the volume offers indispensable tools for assessing families; identifying and capitalizing on their strengths; providing information, support, and coaching; collaborating with parents and teachers to address children's functional needs in the context of everyday routines; and coordinating care. Over a dozen reproducible checklists and forms help professionals immediately implement the techniques and strategies described.

Written by parents who have been through the US special education system, this book cuts through the jargon to provide other parents with a no-nonsense road map full of valuable first-hand insights and tried-and-tested advice. The authors clearly describe: · the special education process, including the school hierarchies parents are likely to encounter and etiquette to be aware of when dealing with school personnel · the information parents should expect to see in school evaluations and Individualized Education Programs (IEPs), and what to do when this information is missing or insufficient · problems parents may encounter when the needs of the school conflict with the needs of a child, including how to deal with such situations and when to seek legal advice · the importance of organizing special education documentation and establishing a 'paper trail', and how to begin this process · why transition planning is so important, and transition services parents may want to consider for their child. Demonstrating that parents really do have the power to make special education work for their child, this empowering guide is essential reading for parents of children with disabilities who are new to the special education system in the US, as well as those who feel frustrated with the system.

This book provides inspiration and guidance for special education teachers, assistants, parents and carers on how to use lively play ideas to foster learning. Targeting key skills such as listening, self-awareness, movement, creative thinking and relaxation, each game has been developed with the capabilities of children with special needs in mind.

Music is a powerful means of engaging children with developmental disabilities such as Autism Spectrum Disorders, Down's Syndrome and Cerebral Palsy. This lively music activity book shows how music can be an effective and enjoyable way to enhance the education and development of children with special needs. Packed with inspiring tips, activities and song ideas, this practical resource will have everybody singing, clapping and playing along! It explains simple and fun ways of using songs, instruments and musical games to connect with children of all levels of ability, and includes helpful rhythm worksheets and sheet music. There is a wide range of suggestions for songs and activities that encourage communication, increase self-esteem, stimulate fine and gross motor skills and motor coordination, and promote relaxation. This book of toe-tapping music activities is a must-have for parents, teachers, caregivers, music therapists and anybody else working with children with developmental disabilities.

Designed for primary and secondary special educators, Powerful Practices for High-Performing Special Educators offers research-based and coordinated instructional strategies that help meet the academic needs of students with disabilities and provides specific examples and scenarios rooted in the realities of special education classrooms, self-contained programmes, or inclusive settings. Field-tested in both special education and general education classrooms with diverse populations, the strategies are effective with students who may not have strong literacy skills, whether they are in special or general education classrooms or are receiving instruction for English language learners (ELL). Every section of the book addresses specific concerns voiced by novice teachers and identified by research as influential in retaining special education teachers, and provides an overview of exemplary practices which promote successful outcomes for students on an Individualized Education Program. Chapter features include: - An overview and objectives - Strategies for professional practice - Quick history and research base - Connecting to diverse student populations - Examples from real-life experiences - Links to student achievement - Myth busters - Bibliography, websites, and professional organizations - Self-assessments - Reproducible forms located in an appendix.

A practical guide & reference manual, Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs addresses special needs in the broadest possible sense to equip teachers with proven, research-based curricular strategies that are grounded in both best practice and current special education law. Chapters address the full range of topics and issues music educators face including parental involvement, student anxiety, field trips and performances, and assessment strategies. The book concludes with an up-to-date section of resources and technology information.

What every special education teacher needs to know to survive and thrive "The Beginning Special Educator's Survival Guide" provides relevant, practical information for new special education teachers across a broad range of topic areas. Drawing on the latest research on special educator effectiveness and retention, this comprehensive, go-to resource addresses the most pressing needs of novice instructors, resource teachers, and inclusion specialists.Offers research-backed, classroom-tested strategies for working with a variety of special needs students. Covers everything from preparing for the new school year to behavior management, customizing curriculum, creating effective IEPs, and more. Billingsley and Brownell are noted experts in special educator training and support. This highly practical book is filled with checklists, forms, and tools that special educators can use every day to help ensure that all special needs students get the rich, rewarding education they deserve.