Reese Library Special Collections: Chinese Americans in Augusta: Manuscript materials

 

The following is a list of manuscript collections held by Reese Library Special Collections & Institutional Archives, which are related to the history of the Chinese community in Augusta, Georgia. These unpublished collections include many primary source materials. Primary sources are generally original documents created at the time being studied, whereas secondary sources (like books), were written later, and reflect upon a given time period or event.                                                                                                                                                                                              

 

MSS 276: Chinese-American oral histories, 2005-2006

link to the collection              

This collection is comprised of oral interviews with Raymond T. Rufo, Evelyn A. Woo Loo, Ellen Woo Dong, Margaret Wong and James Woo.  The fifth disc contains brief histories of the participants, scans of material collected during immigration interviews and a brief explanation of the purpose of the project.  An unbound copy of Mr. Bronstein’s dissertation The Formation and Development of Chinese Communities in Atlanta, Augusta and Savannah Georgia: From Sojourners to Settlers, 1880-1965 248 pages is included.

 

ARCHS 061: Mary Carter Winter papers, 1940-1960

link to the collection              

The collection consists of clippings, letters, booklets, brochures, photographs, hand-written notes, largely about Augusta and Richmond County, but includes genealogies and materials about other subjects of interest to Mrs. Winter. Of particular interest to the subject of the Augusta Chinese community is Box 2, folder 31, which includes materials related to the Chinese-American community.

 

Additional places to look for primary sources​