Research Guides: ISCI 2001: Articles

About GALILEO

GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. A World Wide Web-based virtual library, GALILEO provides access to multiple information resources, including secured access to licensed products. Participating institutions may access over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 2000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications.

The community of more than 2000 GALILEO institutions includes the University System of Georgia, K-12 schools, public libraries, the adult technical institutes and colleges, and a group of private academic colleges and universities. At this time, only educational institutions are eligible to participate in GALILEO.

GALILEO
Search GALILEO, a virtual library operated by the University System of Georgia. Provides access to core databases offering full-text access to journals, magazines, e-books, government information, primary documents, and more.

General tips for searching for articles

Take some time to think -- What are the best keywords to find results for your topic?

Try to keep an open mind -- You may need to change your keywords or key phrases as you pursue your topic.

Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract, and subject fields in your first results.

Try these search tips and features:

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase, e.g. "feminist art" or "art brut"
Put each phrase or concept in a different box.
- For example: Michelangelo in the first box and “Sistine Chapel” in the second will find articles about Michelangelo's work on the Sistine Chapel.
Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
Sort results by date or relevance, especially if requested by your professor
Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search
Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)

Try these database features (not all databases have these):

Thesaurus or Subject Headings list
Reference list (readily available)

Found a great article in full-text? You can:

Use the email feature to send the citation and the article
Download and save the article
Print the article
Generate a permalink or citation (Note: Not all databases have this function, but a lot do)

Theses and Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses at Augusta University (ProQuest database)
Search for dissertations & theses accepted at Augusta University.
Georgia Tech Theses and Dissertations (available through SMARTech)

Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest)
Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses) covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861, and thousands of new dissertations and theses are added each year. For dissertations done in 1997 and later, PDFs of some titles are available.

Citation Databases Available at Greenblatt Library

Greenblatt Library has many science-related resources that can be accessed by going to the Greenblatt LIbrary. In addition to e-journals, these resources include:

Science Citation Index - Older print volumes of the citation index are available in the Greenblatt Library's Reference/Index section. Check the GIL Find Catalog to see which volumes are available.

Web of Science - Database allowing searches of scientific literature by Topic, Title, Author, Author Identifiers, Editor, Group Author, Publication Name, DOI, ear Published, Address