Open Educational Resources (OER): Finding Open Materials

More than 2,500 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content and are freely available for anyone in the world to use.

Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.

Transcriptions of more than 25,000 texts found in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints.

In partnership with six member university presses, the University Librarians of the Big Ten Academic Alliance announce the launch of the Big Ten Open Books project, a collaboration between the university presses and libraries of the Big Ten Academic Alliance.

MIT Press Direct is the best way for libraries to offer MIT Press eBooks to their patrons. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. It contains more than 7.8 million book titles and 435
thousand serial titles.

MERLOT, Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching, is a program of the California State University System.

"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum."

Sponsored by Carnegie Mellon University, this provides online open coursework in a variety of subject areas.

In ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open Database you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

In collaboration with MERLOT, the Open Education Consortium provides a search engine to find OER,

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a "web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world.

Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. There are a variety of subjects presented including several areas of business, the humanities, social sciences, journalism, mathematics, and others.

Openstax, from Rice University, provides access to open textbooks in a variety of subject areas including Math, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Humanities.

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. There are currently more than 10,000 books available through DOAB.

BCcampus is a publicly funded organization in British Columbia whose goal is to make higher education affordable to everyone.

Provided by the University of Pennsylvania; "This page lists freely accessible archives of serials (such as magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals)."

The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 10000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience.

Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines