Governmental sources can offer a wealth of information about other countries. When using governmental sources, be aware of how one country may wish to portray another due to geopolitics.
Below are sites from US and UN sources. Also, think about looking at sources from your home country, countries in its region, countries it is associated/allied with (e.g., NATO, OPEC, Commonwealth, BRICS, etc.), and countries it is in conflict with.
News can be found everywhere on the web. But is it trustworthy? Is it behind a paywall?
Listed here are a few trusted, accessible news sources to search for the latest global events.
To access Research Starters, which are encyclopedia entries about your topic, search for your country's name in Galileo Discover below.
Handbooks on Social Sciences topics including business & management, education, geography, politics & international relations, psychology, research methods & evaluation, social work & social policy, and sociology.
Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.
Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Ongoing full-text academic journals locally published in various East Asian and South Asian countries covering major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities
The East & Central Europe Databases features ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions located in the East and Central Europe region. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, literature, history, and others.
The Continental Europe Database a multidisciplinary collection of ongoing full-text academic journals, the Continental Europe Database features content that is locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. All major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities allowing researchers in all fields to access the latest scholarly articles from their region..
ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic back file for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring 660 of the world's top newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organizations, recognized internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Areas covered include: World, US, Business, Tech, Markets, Work & Careers, and Life & Arts. In addition, graphics are available and there are Opinion pieces.
