In order to access GALILEO from off-campus, you will need the current GALILEO password. You can get the password by stopping by the Information Desk with JagCard validated for the current semester or online using your GIL account. The GALILEO password changes every semester so be sure to get the new password each term.
How to get the GALILEO Password (tutorial)
Discover GALILEO is a new way to search and retrieve content from GALILEOs hundred+ databases, digital collections, and beyond. Discover GALILEO provides a single search of all of these materials, combining the ease and speed of a popular Internet search engine with the quality and organization of content that only a library can provide.
Take some time to think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results. If the database you're using has a thesaurus of terminlogy, use it!
Try these search features:
• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase
• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
• Sort results by date or relevance
• Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search
• Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)
If you’ve found an article in full-text, you can:
• Use the email feature to send the citation and the article, or
• Save the article, or Print the article
GALILEO will be your best resource for finding articles relevant to your research topics. The GALILEO system includes a wide variety of different databases, many of which include full text articles. Some databases that will be particularly useful for this class are listed below.
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
