Research Guides: Music: Databases, Scores, & Articles

Music Databases

Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is the world's first classical music listening service for libraries. Our growing collection of 30,000-plus tracks for listening and searching is supplemented by extensive reference materials and backed by a powerful suite of tools designed for librarians and educators.
Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library contains more than 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.
Research Library
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage: 1971 - present.
JSTOR

Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence, and many others.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media.
Project Muse
Project Muse similar to JSTOR, is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Galileo Discover Search

GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. A World Wide Web-based virtual library, GALILEO provides access to multiple information resources, including secured access to licensed products.

Tips for Searching for Articles

Take some time to think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results. If the database you're using has a thesaurus of terminlogy, use it!

Try these search features:

• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase

• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type

• Sort results by date or relevance

• Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search

• Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)

If you’ve found an article in full-text, you can:

• Use the email feature to send the citation and the article, or

• Save the article, or Print the article

Find Music Scores, CDs, and Books in the Gil-Find Library Catalog

Use the Gil-Find Catalog to find music scores, CDs, books, and other materials related to music.