In order to access GALILEO from off-campus, you will need your Augusta University Net ID and password. This login is the same one that is used for Pounce, D2L, Email, Softserv and various other enterprise applications. In addition to being more secure, this new method of authentication means you won't have to look up the new GALILEO password each semester.
East Georgia Students
East Georgia students can access all of the Reese Library resources while on campus. However, for off campus access you will have access to GALILEO resources made available via the East Georgia library. To access these resources from off campus, go to the GALILEO home page and enter the current East Georgia password.
Take some time to think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results. If the database you're using has a thesaurus of terminlogy, use it!
Try these search features:
• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase
• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
• Sort results by date or relevance
• Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search
• Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)
If you’ve found an article in full-text, you can:
• Use the email feature to send the citation and the article, or
• Save the article, or Print the article
GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. A World Wide Web-based virtual library, GALILEO provides access to multiple information resources, including secured access to licensed products. Participating institutions may access over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 2000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications.
The community of more than 2000 GALILEO institutions includes the University System of Georgia, K-12 schools, public libraries, the adult technical institutes and colleges, and a group of private academic colleges and universities. At this time, only educational institutions are eligible to participate in GALILEO.
Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.
