Veterans' Services Library Resource Guide: Finding Journal Articles
Finding Journals Through the Library Website
-
To identify journal articles in different subject areas, use the databases in GALILEO. Within the Research Guides page, then you will see the A-Z Database List on the right side. Click "Go to A-Z List" to browse by database title, or by subject.
-
To retrieve an article that you've already identified, use Reese Library's E-Journals list.
-
To retrieve articles that Augusta University doesn't own or have access to, use ILLiad.
Helpful Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Getting the Article
There are 3 main ways to get the article you need: electronically, in print, or through Interlibrary Loan (Illiad).
Electronic subscriptions:
This is the fastest way to get a previously identified article, so start here first.
- Check for full-text holdings in electronic format in the E-journals A-Z list . Just type in the title of the journal in the search box, and select ‘Title Name’. Click Search.
- Once you have matched the issue date that you need with the electronic holdings in the E-journals list, you can find that issue electronically and download/print the article you need.
- When you have a citation to a specific article, you have all the information you need to find that article electronically. If you can't find the journal you need, or the year you need, in the E-journals list, search for the journal in the library catalog (GILFind), to see if we have a print subscription.
In Print
For print subscriptions (the journals, magazines, and newspapers that we keep in hard copy on the second floor), check for library holdings in the library catalog (GILFind).
- Click on the down arrow next to the search box, and select ‘journal title’. Either type in the title of the journal, or copy it from your search results, and paste it into the search box. If we subscribe in print, even if we only have a few volumes, there will be a record in GILFind that will tell you the most recently received issue, as well as how far back our holdings for this title go.
- Once you have matched the issue date you need with our holdings in the catalog, you can find the article in the periodicals stacks on the second floor. Journals are shelved in alphabetical order by the title of the journal, then by volume number and/or date.
- Newest issues are on the JSAC Breezeway side of the second floor; bound volumes are on the University Hall side.
- When you have a citation to a specific article, you have all the information you need to find that article in the Library. If the Library doesn't subscribe in print to the journal you need, or doesn't have the year you need, search for it in the E-journals list.
Interlibrary Loan
- To request articles from journals that you cannot get either in print in the Library or electronically in e-journals, go to the Reese Library Home Page, and click on Interlibrary Loan Login Page.
- The service we use is called ILLiad, and you must register to use it, in much the same way that you register to use an online vendor, but without using a credit card number. ILLiad can also be used to track your requests.
- If the article can be delivered electronically, you'll get an e-mail message with a link to ILLiad, so you can download the article when it becomes available, without having to come to the Library.