Your topic is always the best determinant of which of the hundreds of resources in GALILEO will be most productive for you to use. The following are suggested as general alternatives to the databases indicated as primary to your course topic. All are multidisciplinary; Wilson OmniFile, Academic Search and Research Library will be most useful when all you need is handful of readily available resources, rather than when you need to begin a literature review for a research project.
Dissertation Abstracts Online covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, and British and other European dissertations. Abstracts are included for dissertations beginning July 1980 and for masters theses beginning spring 1988. (NOTE: For dissertations and theses completed prior to those dates, references are given to the print edition of Dissertation Abstracts, American Doctorial Dissertations and Master Abstracts. Abstracts may be consulted in those publications. Check with your librarian for further information.) Coverage: 1861-Present. Updates: Monthly. A GALILEO database (produced by UMI)
Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. Abstracts and indexing from five additional periodical databases are included; when available, full-text articles are also included: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Academic Search Complete (at EBSCO) and Research Library (at ProQuest) provide abstracts, indexing, and some full text for scholarly journals and general magazines. Click on GALILEO and select either "Academic Search Premier" or "Research Library" to search either database.
