Research Guides: ENGL 1102- Maynard: Find Articles

Off Campus Access

To access the GALILEO resources from off-campus:

From the Reese Library's home page: www.augusta.edu/library/reese click on GALILEO (databases).

You will be prompted to enter your JagNet ID and Password (this is the same information used to log into Augusta University email and POUNCE).

You will then have access to all the GALILEO databases.

Tips for Searching for Articles

Take some time to think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results. If the database you're using has a thesaurus of terminlogy, use it!

Try these search features:

• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase

• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type

• Sort results by date or relevance

• Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search

• Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)

If you’ve found an article in full-text, you can:

• Use the email feature to send the citation and the article, or

• Save the article, or Print the article

Obtain Resources from Other Libraries - ILLIAD

If you find an article or book that you need for your research and cannot locate it at Reese Library, log into ILLIAD to request the article from another library: https://aug.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html

First time users must create an account associated with their Augusta University email address.

Primary Source Databases

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
The Making of the Modern World
An online primary source archive focused on the history of Western trade and empire from 1500 to the early twentieth century.

Recommended Databases for this Class

Multidisciplinary databases:

Academic Search Complete

Multi-disciplinary database offering full-text coverage of information in mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and technology.
JSTOR

Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Project Muse
Project Muse ® provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities; social sciences; and mathematics. Fields covered include literature and criticism; history; the visual and performing arts; cultural studies; education; political science; gender studies; economics; and many others.

The database allows keyword and Boolean searching across the full-text of all journals in the database, selected subsets of journal titles, or in just a single title.
Research Library
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage: 1971 - present.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
SocINDEX
SocINDEX provides access to Sociology-specific journal articles, including Full Text. It features over 1 million records with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers.
SportDiscus
A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

GALILEO

GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. A World Wide Web-based virtual library, GALILEO provides access to multiple information resources, including secured access to licensed products. Participating institutions may access over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 2000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications.

The community of more than 2000 GALILEO institutions includes the University System of Georgia, K-12 schools, public libraries, the adult technical institutes and colleges, and a group of private academic colleges and universities. At this time, only educational institutions are eligible to participate in GALILEO.

GALILEO home page