Skip to Main Content

Chemistry Research Aids: Evaluating Sources

This LibGuide provides information for conducting research in Chemistry.

Internet Extensions

.com - "commercial"

.org - "organization"  

.net - "network"

.edu - "education" 

.gov - "government" (US)

.mil - "military" (US)

.int - "intergovernmental"


Different countries have different extensions.

Evaluating sources: The CRAAP Test, the 5Ws & 1 H + others

Why evaluate sources?

Caucasian woman typing on Apple MacBook

The problem with searching for information - especially on the Internet - is that we don't always know where it comes from and whether or not it is worth trusting. 

Be selective and evaluate the information you find by considering the:

  • Origin of the information source
  • Applicability of the source to your needs
  • The nature of the source - give the content a critical look over. 

A source evaluation tool or rubric can guide you in evaluating the source for credibility and relevance.

The CRAAP Test, outlined in the second tab, is an efficient way to help you discern whether that information is appropriate for your assignment for ANY source, not just those found through Google, Bing, etc.

Some other guidelines are listed in subsequent tabs.

Image of CRAAP Test Steps
Picture via ThePinsta.com

 

The CRAAP Test

CRAAP Test (450 KB) 

Librarians in the US and from around the world recommend the CRAAP Test as it's applicable to all source types and it's easy to remember!

Zoom into the "Take the CRAAP Test" infographic on the right and save a copy for yourself.

Alternatively, download a PDF of the test below.

C
Currency

The timeliness of the information

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well? Are the links functional?
R

 
Relevance

The importance of the information for your needs

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?
A

 
Authority

The source of the information

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net
A
Accuracy

The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?
P
Purpose

The reason the information exists

  • What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
  • Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

"CRAAP Test" infographic and wording reproduced from UC San Diego Library, who adapted it from CSU Chicco

"All that glitters is not gold"---and this is true with any of the sources you may find.

The 5 Ws + 1 H is a tool to help you decide whether or not you should use a source, whether it is a book, a journal article, a webpage, and so on:

Who

  • Who wrote the piece? What are their qualifications and/or affiliations?

What

  • What is the content of the piece about?
  • What about the piece is relevant to your research?

When

  • When was this piece written?
  • What time period is the research from?

Where

  • Where was this piece published—in an academic journal, on a blog, a government website, a special interest newsletter?

Why

  • Why did the author write this (what is the author’s purpose/bias)?

How

  • How was the research done? What does that tell you about the piece?
  • How is other research cited?
  • How long is the piece?

SIFT: Stop - Investigate the source - Find better coverage - Trace claims, quotes & media

SIFT test:

Stop - Investigate the source - Find better coverage - Trace claims, quotes & media

The IF I APPLY is a tool used to test the credibility of any resource. The link to it is below.

Evaluation guidelines for certain types of genres

Evaluating Materials

Scholarly vs Popular

CriteriaScholarly JournalPopular MagazineTrade Magazine/Journal
Example
The Journal of Biological Chemistry
Time magazine
Publisher's Weekly
Content (Accuracy) In-depth, primary account of original findings written by the researcher(s); very specific information, with the goal of scholarly communication. Secondary discussion of someone else's research; may include personal narrative or opinion; general information, purpose is to entertain or inform. Current news, trends and products in a specific industry; practical information for professionals working in the field or industry.
Author (Authority) Author's credentials are provided; usually a scholar or specialist with subject expertise. Author is frequently a journalist paid to write articles, may or may not have subject expertise. Author is usually a professional in the field, sometimes a journalist with subject expertise.
Audience (Coverage) Scholars, researchers, and students. General public; the interested non-specialist. Professionals in the field; the interested non-specialist.
Language (Coverage) Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires expertise in subject area. Vocabulary in general usage; easily understandable to most readers. Specialized terminology or jargon of the field, but not as technical as a scholarly journal.
Graphics (Coverage) Graphs, charts, and tables; very few advertisements and photographs. Graphs, charts and tables; lots of glossy advertisements and photographs. Photographs; some graphics and charts; advertisements targeted to professionals in the field.
Layout & Organization (Currency) Structured; includes the article abstract, goals and objectives, methodology, results (evidence), discussion, conclusion, and bibliography. Informal; may include non-standard formatting. May not present supporting evidence or a conclusion. Informal; articles organized like a journal or a newsletter. Evidence drawn from personal experience or common knowledge.
Accountability (Objectivity) Articles are evaluated by peer-reviewers* or referees who are experts in the field; edited for content, format, and style. Articles are evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field; edited for format and style. Articles are evaluated by editorial staff who may be experts in the field, not peer-reviewed*; edited for format and style.
References (Objectivity) Required. Quotes and facts are verifiable. Rare. Little, if any, information about source materials is given. Occasional brief bibliographies, but not required.
Paging Page numbers are consecutive throughout the volume. Each issue begins with page 1. Each issue begins with page 1.
Other Examples
Scholarly Journal
Annals of Mathematics, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, History of Education Quarterly, Almost anything with Journal in the title.
Popular Magazine
Sports Illustrated, National Geographic, Time, Newsweek, Ladies Home Journal, Cooking Light, Discover
Trade Magazine/Journal
Architectural Record, PC World, Restaurant Business, American Libraries, Psychology Today, School Band and Orch

 

Based on Scholarly vs. Popular Materials by Amy VanScoy, NCSU Library

http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/spmaterials/