Research Guides: Information Resources for International Study & Study Abroad (Summerville Campus): Cultural

Films on Demand: Your Cultural Passport to International Business

ARTstor: Culture Guides

ARTstor Digital Library subject guides contain content related to the history and culture of a specific country or region, as illustrated by works of art and architecture, from traditional forms to contemporary works, as well as photographs of historical events and figures.

Latin American Studies
content related to the history and culture of Latin America, including images of works of art and architecture, from traditional forms to contemporary works, as well as photographs of historical events and figures
Asian Studies
content related to the history and culture of Asia, as illustrated by works of art and architecture, from traditional forms to contemporary works, as well as photographs of historical events and figures.
Middle Eastern Studies
content related to the study of the history and culture of the Middle East, from Morocco and North Africa to Turkey and Iran, including photographs of important sites, people, and historical events, as well as images of calligraphy, ceramics, textiles, glass, and metalwork.
Classical Studies
content related to the ancient Mediterranean world, as illustrated by images of architecture, architectural decoration, sculpture, vases, mosaics, jewelry, metalwork, and an array of subjects and themes depicted within the Classical tradition
Native American and Indigenous Studies
content related to the experiences and cultural traditions of indigenous peoples from across the globe: Native Americans, Canada’s First Nations, Inuit, the Maori in New Zealand, PreColumbian cultures of Mexico, Central, and South America (Inca, Aztec, Maya, Mapuche), and Aboriginal peoples in Australia, among others. These cultures are illustrated by historic and contemporary photographs of ceremonial scenes, architecture and landscapes, as well as studio portraits of individuals and tribal delegations. Artifacts of material culture such as baskets, textiles, tools, masks, and costumes are also available.

FINDING CULTURAL INFORMATION

ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates

GILFind Catalog
Use the Library Catalog, GIL-FIND, for full-length books on your country. Set the pull-down box on ‘subject’ and enter the country’s name followed by description and travel, or the country’s name followed by social life and customs, or country name followed by guidebooks, for example, Greece guidebooks. Sort your results set by ‘date descending’ for the newest information.

Finding cultural information in REFERENCE

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Timothy L. Gall
ISBN: 9781414448824

Publication Date: 2009-05-12
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by Thomas Riggs
ISBN: 0787666114

Publication Date: 2005-11-18
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
ISBN: 9780521516983

Publication Date: 2010-06-03
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by David Levinson; Karen Christensen
ISBN: 0684806177

Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Philip Mattar
ISBN: 0028657691

Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Global Road Warrior: Location Snapshots

Dictionaries and Translation Tools

Google Translate

Google Translate is a free translation service that provides instant translations between dozens of different languages. It can translate words, sentences and web pages between any combination of our supported languages.

Bing Translator

Powered By Microsoft Translator® this tool provides translations of phrases, words and whole websites. Includes Haitian Creole.

Glossaries by Language

Produced and maintained by Language Automation, this site contains a glossaries for conversational, technical and medical terminology in 50+ languages (organized alphabetically).