In order to access GALILEO from off-campus, you will need your JagNet ID and password. This login is the same one that is used for Pounce, D2L, Email, and various other enterprise applications. In addition to being more secure, this new method of authentication means you won't have to look up the new GALILEO password each semester.
Take some time to think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results. If the database you're using has a thesaurus of terminlogy, use it!
Try these search features:
• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase
• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
• Sort results by date or relevance
• Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search
• Use truncation (strateg* will find strategic, strategy, strategies, for example)
If you’ve found an article in full-text, you can:
• Use the email feature to send the citation and the article, or
• Save the article, or Print the article
GALILEO will be your best resource for finding articles relevant to your research topics. The GALILEO system includes a wide variety of different databases, many of which include full text articles. Several databases that will be particularly useful for this class are listed below.
It will be tough to find articles about a local nonprofit in the major GALILEO databases such as Business Source Complete, ABI Inform, or the Wall Street Journal. In these databases, you should be able to find concepts or strategies from a similar nonprofit that may be relevant. However, you will have a better chance to find news articles that may have appeared in the Augusta Chronicle linked below.
