Research Guides: Social Studies Education: Find articles

Quick Search Tips

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase. For example, "social studies education"

Input each phrase or concept in a different box. For example, "social studies education" in the first box and “elementary education” in the second will find articles containing both of these phrases, "social studies education" and "elementary education" either in the record details or within the article itself.

Set search limits such as peer-reviewed, and source type, e.g., academic journals.

Refine results by publication date especially if your professor requests.

Look at suggested subjects to narrow your search.

Use the database's truncation device, typically an *, to include word variations; for example, strateg* will find results containing the words strategic, strategy, strategies, etc.

Search GALILEO (a broad search)

GALILEO searches across all of the Libraries' databases at once.
Enter a few keywords and/or "key phrases", or search by title or author > Search or hit Enter/Return

Find journal articles and more in these databases (a medium-level search)

Top databases
Other useful databases

Why search within an individual or a set of databases rather than GALILEO?

As GALILEO covers a wide range of disciplines, searching within an individual, or a small set of subject-specialty databases can be more on target and efficient. Try GALILEO first, and then run a similar search in a subject database/set of databases, and compare the results.

Did you know EBSCOhost databases can be searched together?
Enter one of the EBSCOhost databases below > Select 'Choose Databases' > Select desired databases > OK.

Education Database (Proquest)

ProQuest Education Database provides you with over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
Education Source
Education Source (EBSCOhost) offers the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. It covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) is a database covering all aspects of education and educational research.
Professional Development Collection (education)
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost) is a specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators that includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies™ (EBSCOhost) provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.

JSTOR

Provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals, organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, and the Business Collection.
Project Muse
Project Muse similar to JSTOR, is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Race Relations Abstracts
RRA provides access to bibliographic records covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination and immigration studies.
ScienceDirect

Access to full-text books and journal articles from all subject collections published by Elsevier Science. Disciplines include health sciences, physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text features over 1 million records with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This database also contains abstracts for over 1,000 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. Indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is also included.
Sociological Collection
Sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.

Academic journals covering social studies education topics

If you have been a teacher education student here at Augusta University for a while, you probably have already searched in GALILEO or an individual education database, like ERIC, to find academic journal articles on education topics.

But did you know you can search within a particular eJournal?

For example, instead of searching the ERIC database, where you will find articles from many different Education journals, you can enter the Review of Educational Research ejournal and search within it to only get results from that journal.

The below e-journals cover articles on social studies education and social topics:

The International journal of social education: Official journal of the Indiana Council for the Social Studies.
Aims to explain and extend the definition, purpose and uses of social education.
Journal of social studies research
Designed to foster the dissemination of ideas and research findings related to social studies; it is the official publication of the International Society for the Social Studies (ISSS).
Radical Teacher
Radical Teacher, founded in 1975, is a socialist, feminist, and anti-racist journal dedicated to the theory and practice of teaching. It serves the community of educators who are working for democratic process, peace, and justice. The magazine examines the root causes of inequality and promotes progressive social change.
Social education
The National Council for the Social Studies peer-reviewed, flagship journal; Social Education contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas.
The Social Studies
Publishes research of interest to educators, focusing on social studies, social sciences, history, interdisciplinary studies and more.
Social Studies Research & Practice
Focuses on providing a venue for P-16 social studies research and practice manuscripts, lesson plans, reviews and issues related to higher-level learning outcomes.
Theory & Research in Social Education
Aim is to foster the creation and exchange of ideas and research findings that will expand knowledge and understanding of the purposes, conditions, and effects of schooling and education about society and social relations.