Research Guides: Social Studies Education: Find web resources

Google Search and alternatives

Although there are many search engines available, Google is the best known and one of the most accurate.

Advanced Google Search
Try the Advanced Google Search for additional options.

Other Search Engines:

Bing
Bing is Microsoft's latest entry into the search engine market.
Dogpile
Powered by Metasearch technology, Dogpile searches different search engines, decides which are the most relevant to your search, eliminates duplicates and reveals them to you.
DuckDuckGo
A regular search engine that has an extraordinary privacy policy: not to collect or share any of your personal information.
Yahoo
One of the first sites that provided a means to search for information on the web, Yahoo! is a good starting point to begin your research.

Recommended web resources and websites on...

Annenberg Learner
"Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching." Amongst other subjects, they cover social studies and history.
Best of History Web Sites
"Aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories and has been designed to benefit history teachers and their students; however, general history enthusiasts will benefit from the site as well. "
Civic Online Reasoning (COR)
A subset of Digital Inquiry Group, "the COR curriculum provides free lessons and assessments that help you teach students to evaluate online information that affects them, their communities, and the world."
Digital Inquiry Group (DIG) (formerly the Stanford History Education Group - SHEG)
DIG, formerly SHEG, provides a history curriculum, lesson plans, digital literacy materials, and assessments for use in the classroom. They also provide professional development.
Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) - Social Studies Program Page
Provides information, rules, and guidance about teaching social studies in Georgia and links to instructional, testing and assessment resources, and social studies organizations.
GPB (Georgia Public Broadcasting) & PBS Learning Media for Teachers - Social Studies
A curated, free, curriculum-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers on social studies topics, provided by GBP and PBS.
History-Social Science Resources (California Department of Education)
Resources for teaching social studies. Some siites are specific to teaching within California, but others are general.
Khan Academy - Humanities
"Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom."
Learning for Justice (Southern Poverty Law Center)
Learning for Justice provides "free educational resources—articles, guides, lessons, films, webinars, frameworks and more—help foster shared learning and reflection for educators, young people, caregivers and all community members."
Lesson Plans and Resources for Social Studies Teachers (by Dr. Marty Levine)
A compilation of lesson plans and resources from online which social studies teachers will find useful.
National Geographic Classroom Resources
Find "immersive experiences, interactive lesson plans, maps, and other free resources".
Vote Smart - Education
Provices "activities [that] can be used by students or teachers as they work to evaluate their candidates and monitor their work once they are hired by the voters. The Vote Smart Database can be used by students to find out more about those who wish to represent them or those who currently do."
Web Inquiry Projects (by Dr. Philip Molebash)
Projects that use web resources to promote classroom inquiry.

DocsTeach (National Archives)
Create your own activities, or borrow from an expanding collection of document-based activities created by the National Archives and teachers, based on thousands of primary sources spanning the course of American history.
National Constitution Center - Education Resources
"The National Constitution Center brings innovative teaching tools to your classroom. Our unique approach to constitutional education emphasizes historic storytelling, constitutional rather than political questions, and the habits of civil dialogue and reflection."
Library of Congress - Teachers
"The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."
Smithsonian's History Explorer
"History Explorer's resources focus on learning history by "reading" objects for the stories they hold about the nation and its many peoples. Learning activities feature artifacts selected from over 3 million items in the Museum's collections, and draw on the expertise of the Museum's renowned curatorial staff."

Want more ideas? Visit our Teaching Primary & Secondary Sources in K-12 Research Guide for a range of open resources, including primary and secondary, that you can use to prepare lessons for different social studies subjects.

Carter G. Woodson Book AWard
The National Council for Social Studies established the Carter G. Woodson Book Awards for the most distinguished books appropriate for young readers that depict ethnicity in the United States. First presented in 1974, this award is intended to “encourage the writing, publishing, and dissemination of outstanding social studies books for young readers that treat topics related to ethnic minorities and race relations sensitively and accurately.”
Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People
Books selected for this bibliography are written primarily for children in grades K-12. The selection committee looks for books that emphasize human relations, represent a diversity of groups and are sensitive to a broad range of cultural experiences, present an original theme or a fresh slant on a traditional topic, are easily readable and of high literary quality, and have a pleasing format and, when appropriate, illustrations that enrich the text.
Pura Belpré Award
The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), divisions of the American Library Association (ALA), and the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking ( REFORMA), an ALA affiliate.

American Historical Association (AHA)
"The AHA is a trusted voice advocating for history education, the professional work of historians, and the critical role of historical thinking in public life."
Center for Civic Education
"The Center for Civic Education helps students develop (1) an increased understanding of the institutions of constitutional democracy and the fundamental principles and values upon which they are founded, (2) the skills necessary to participate as competent and responsible citizens, and (3) the willingness to use democratic procedures for making decisions and managing conflict. Ultimately, the Center strives to develop an enlightened citizenry by working to increase understanding of the principles, values, institutions, and history of constitutional democracy among teachers, students, and the general public."
Council for Economic Education (CEE)
The CEE's mission is "to equip K-12 students with the tools and knowledge of personal finance and economics so that they can make better decisions for themselves, their families, and their communities."
National Association of Economic Educators (NAEE)
"The National Association of Economic Educators (NAEE) is the professional association of economic educators. The mission of National Association of Economic Educators (NAEE) is to advance economic and financial literacy by serving educators."
National Center for History in the Schools (NCHS)
"Today, as part of the UCLA History Department's "Public History Initiative," NCHS continues to nurture ties between the historical profession and classroom teachers in an effort to improve and enliven the teaching of history at all levels. Through publications, professional development, and community engagement, NCHS links UCLA to teachers and students in Los Angeles and across the United States."
National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE)
"The National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE) is a non-profit organization chartered in 1915 to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning."
National Council for History Education (NCHE)
"The National Council for History Education is a nonprofit professional organization that elevates the importance of history teaching and learning through professional learning, community building, and advocacy."
National Council for the Social Studies
"National Council for the Social Studies is the largest professional association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies."

Evaluate sources with the CRAAP Test

: Picture via ThePinsta.com

The CRAAP Test

Librarians in the US and from around the world recommend the CRAAP Test as it's applicable to all source types, and it's easy to remember!

Zoom into the "Take the CRAAP Test" infographic on the right and save a copy for yourself.

Alternatively, download a PDF at the end of this box.

C stands for

Currency

The timeliness of the information

When was the information published or posted?
Has the information been revised or updated?
Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well? Are the links functional?

R stands for

Relevance

The importance of the information for your needs

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
Who is the intended audience?
Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

A stands for

Authority

The source of the information

Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net

A stands for

Accuracy

The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

Where does the information come from?
Is the information supported by evidence?
Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

P stands for

Purpose

The reason the information exists

What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

"CRAAP Test" infographic and wording reproduced from UC San Diego Library, who adapted it from CSU Chicco

CRAAP Test (450 KB)