UpToDate - Focuses on evidence-based information for patient care, diagnosis and treatment questions. Provides synthesized topic reviews, references and patient education handouts. Mobile adaptable.
JAMAEvidence - Contains fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical decisions. Includes Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination and Care at the Close of Life.
TRIP database - clinical database that contains multiple categories of information, such as high-level literature, clinical calculators, and eTextbooks.
Essential Evidence Plus - Clinical decision support system featuring over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries. EE+ covers common conditions, procedures and diagnostic calculators.
Cochrane Clinical Answers - provides a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care (electronic textbook) - Intended for clinicians interested in updated, evidence-based guidelines for primary care topics. Consolidates information from nationally recognized medical associations and government agencies into concise recommendations and guidelines for ambulatory care.
ECRI Guidelines Trust - A publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Beyond the resources linked above, many databases also offer an option to filter search results by Publication Type, including Practice Guidelines.
Visual Tools
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination - Illustrates the principles of a complete head to toe assessment for adult, elderly and pediatric patients. View examination techniques from a systems-based perspective displayed by a varied range of patients.
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Dermatology (electronic textbook) - Clinical text provides images and summary of major skin diseases of skin, hair, nails, mucosal membranes. Microbial skin diseases and links between dermatology and internal medicine are explored as well.
Clinical Calculators
Diagnosaurus (Access Medicine) - Search diagnoses by disease, symptom, or body system. Download this tool to mobile devices.
Essential Evidence Plus - Evaluate findings from physical exam and patient history grouped by body system and patient symptoms. Diagnostic calculators link potential symptom/disease pairings to identify clinical tests and interpret results.
Up To Date Calculators - Medical specialty calculators which cover adult and pediatric patients.
Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Library) - the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
ACP Journal Club (in Annals of Internal Medicine) - ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies.
EvidenceAlerts - a searchable database of current best evidence from research to clinical decisions support. Requires free registration to utilize all features of the database.
NEJM Journal Watch - Arranged by clinical area, provides summaries of current research to help healthcare professionals stay informed.
Micromedex - Online evidence-based database of referenced information for medication, toxicology, disease, acute care, and alternative medicine. Includes NeoFax and Pediatric for pediatric and neonatal drug therapy, and RedBook for daily access to drug pricing and descriptive information.
LexiComp (via UpToDate) - a select set of foundational drug information from the Lexicomp core databases, including more than 6,500 in-depth drug monographs. Each monograph provides dosage information for adult, pediatric and geriatric patients. Drug interactions information is also available.
Clinical Trials.gov - A clinical trials registry provided by the National Library of Medicine.
Central Register of Controlled Trials (Cochrane Library) - includes details of published articles taken from mainly MEDLINE and EMBASE as well as other published and unpublished sources.
AU Research Development Services - Provides support for obtaining approval for use of AU Medical Center, clinics, ancillary services, medical records, and patients (recruited from or using these services) that will be used during the conduct of a research study.
AU Clinical Trials - Find actively recruiting studies that you may be able to participate in or learn about new treatments that are being considered in these areas of investigation.
