Early English Books and Manuscripts: Language Resources

The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.

The Dictionary of Old English electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. There are 3047 texts in the corpus. The texts are ordered by their Cameron numbers, alphanumeric codes that consist of one letter followed by a number or numbers, variously identifying the specific texts.

The Middle English Compendium contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language-traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language."

The IPA was first published in 1888 by the Association Phonétique Internationale (International Phonetic Association), a group of French language teachers founded by Paul Passy.

Harvard's website discussing the Great Vowel Shift at the end of the sixteenth century.

The UCLA Phonetics Lab provides links to phonetics teaching materials compiled from the lab's collection by Peter and Jenny Ladefoged.