Reese Library Special Collections: History of Business in Augusta: Manuscript materials

A history of business in Augusta

Manuscripts

 

The following is a list of manuscript collections held by Reese Library Special Collections, which are related to the history of business in Augusta. These unpublished collections include many primary source materials. Primary sources are generally original documents created at the time being studied, whereas secondary sources (like books), were written later, and reflect upon a given time period or event.                                                                                                                                                                                              

 

ARCHS 015: Irish American Bank records, 1912-1913

link to the collection

This collection includes 4 volumes of savings ledgers for the Irish American Bank.

 

ARCHS 052: Anonymous business ledger, 1830-1838

link to the collection

This collection is comprised of one anonymous business ledger transferred to the Richmond County Historical Society by the Augusta Richmond County Museum on March 5th, 1979.

 

ARCHS 053: Joseph A. Eve business ledger, 1859-1864

link to the collection

Business ledger for medical services rendered.

 

ARCHS 074: Washington Baptist Association minutes, September 28, 29, & 30, 1897

link to the collection

One booklet, Minutes of the Sixty-Ninth Anniversary of the Washington Baptist Association held with the Pleasant Grove Church, September 28, 29, and 30, 1897. Booklet contains list of attendees, standing order of business, meeting minutes and articles of faith.

 

ARCHS 107: Augusta company histories, 1987-1988, undated

link to the collection

This collection includes brief business histories and timelines for 26 businesses from the Augusta, Ga. area. The histories were collected by the Augusta Richmond County Historical Society for an event in the fall of 1988, entitled "Golden Business of Richmond County," which highlighted the business history of the area. The majority of the histories are brief typed timelines or historical narratives written by a company employee, though some companies provided informational pamphlets or brochures. A few of the histories are accompanied by correspondence relating to the Historical Society's "Golden Business" event.

 

ARCHS 172: D.R. Wright financial records, 1848-1888

link to the collection

This collection is comprised of a single folder of the financial records of Daniel Wright. Materials include shares in Port Royal Company, the Princeton Manufacturing Company, the Augusta National Exposition Company, the Aiken Manufacturing Company, the Stonewall Iron Company of Alabama, the Macon and Augusta Railroad Company, the Augusta Union Bank, the Augusta Insurance & Banking Company, the Bank of Augusta.

 

MSS 007: T.J. Cooper & Son account book, 1840-1842

link to the collection

This collection of 2 volumes of ledgers of the Augusta business T.J. Cooper & Son.

 

MSS 016: John B. Murray business records, 1926-1951'

link to the collection

Material consists of city business licenses, real estate licenses, notary certificates, real estate licenses and insurance agent licenses. Of interest is the real estate license for Mrs. James T. Moore. Collection date span: 1926-1944

 

MSS 026: Cotton Exchange of Augusta records, 1916-1956

link to the collection

The collection consists of records of the Cotton Exchange of Augusta (Ga.) from 1916-1956. The records contain mainly daily reports which detail cotton prices in Augusta including receipts and stock; market value in the Liverpool (England) and New Orleans (La.) markets; and daily exports, market value, and stock in the New York (N.Y.) market. The records also include cash accounts and record books of dues-paying member

 

MSS 041: Anonymous Augusta business ledger, 1815

link to the collection

One anonymous business ledger. This material was acquired by Reese Library Special Collections & Institutional Archives in December of 1983.

 

MSS 148: James Gardiner account books, 1796, 1799

link to the collection

Ledgers from Augusta and Petersberg, Georgia

 

MSS 402: S.M. Whitney papers, 1950-1995, 1895, 2004

link to the collection

Materials about S.M. Whitney Co, Inc., a cotton seller founded in Augusta, Georgia in 1868. It closed down in September of 2010. Most documents fall in the 1950-1995 date range, the company then under the management of Barry Whitney, a descendent of cotton gin inventor, Eli Whitney. There are also records from other Augusta businesses, including the Georgia Railroad and Banking Co., Cotton Exhange of Augusta, J.G. Jackson & Co, Feedright Milling Co., and Trustees of the Augusta Free School.

 

MSS 404: Diedrich Timm receipts, 1899-1900

link to the collection

This collection is comprised of the receipts of Diedrich Timm, a grocer in Augusta, GA, for purchases made from local businesses.

 

MSS 412: Georgia Railroad Bank and Company records, 1834-1965

link to the collection

This collection is comprised of annual reports, reports of the general manager of the Georgia Railroad, Minutes of the board of Directors, State of the Bank reports, Adams Express Company receipt book, shareholders of the Georgia Railroad and Banking Company and banking transactions

 

MSS 423: Augusta Savings Bank business records, 1879-1909

link to the collection

This collection contains materials relating to the establishment of the Augusta Savings Bank. Materials include articles of incorporations and subsequent amendments, and a renewal of the bank's charter. Materials span the years of 1879-1909.